Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made this as a try out run to see if I'd want to serve it for guests this weekend. I halved the recipe since it was for just 3 of us. It was all gone and I only had one. I could have eaten at least 3 easily and that says a lot! Great recipe! I followed the recipe and did not change a thing. The spiciness was very good. I may take it up a notch when I serve it to my guests who happen to like spicy food. Just an f.y.i. though... without the sauce it isn't very hot for those who may not like heat. Thank you Zach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Why boil out the flavor? Try this, low and slow on the grill (I prefer charcoal or wood chunks), indirect heat is best for about 30-45 minutes. While the brats are cooking take 3-4 cans of beer and 1/2 to 1 stick of butter, thin sliced onion, salt, pepper and other seasonings to taste. Heat on the grill in foil pan. More or less beer depending on pan size, # of brats and thurst of the cook! Put brats in beer sauce and let simmer. Brats will stay juicy and flavorful for 2-3 hours. great for picnics, ball games, camping, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I used this recipe to feed a very large group of patrons at my husbands bar/resturant for super bowl Sunday and let me tell you, Holy Cow. I prepared a total of 100 brats, following this recipe. They were the most delicious brats we have ever served!! This is the first year I have made them for our party, (6th year in a row, always doing brats for super bowl) and everyone RAVED! I was so happy and my husband so proud! I will nover make brats any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Perfect! We pricked the brats a bunch of times with a fork to allow the beer and seasoning to really soak in. And instead of hovering over a hot stove, we let them simmer in the crockpot for a few hours. PERFECT with sauerkraut, the beer-y onions grilled, dijon mustard, and a hit of hot sauce. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I have used this for small and large parties. It has also become the recipie for my son's Boy Scoup Troop's court of honor. I just cooked 72 brats for the troop and they turned out great. Only difference is I add all ingredients to the pot with the brats and let them soak for 24 hours. I use the cheapest drinkable beer I can find. I have used Guiness and Killians Red and you could not taste much difference from the Miller High Life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was good, but the beer flavor was not quite as strong as I'd hoped. Next time, I will try a stronger beer, like Guiness, and cook it on the stove for a longer time to really give it time to simmer and for the flavors to soak in. I pricked the brats all over with a fork to allow the beer to get in there. Some of it could be the beer... all I had was Beck's, which is pretty light. Great idea, though, I will keep tweaking to get more beer flavor. I used a couple cloves of fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
We loved these. Bought store brand brats, boiled in beer and grilled until nice, dark grill marks appeared. Served with corn on the cob. Perfect summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2Be!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I am brat lover...grew up eating them. In my opinion the best way to preserve the flavor is NOT to par boil them. Grill slowly and then place in beer mixture and soak slowly on low heat as long as you have. Par boiling only takes what flavor and moisture that the fat provides out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Good but we could not really tell a difference from how I usually make mine which is boiling them in beer before transfering them to the grill. Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Great & simple! Used two cans of fosters. Subed chili powder for the flakes and it worked just perfectly. The outside was crisp from the grill and the inside was nice and juicey. I'll definitely be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States