Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made this for a BBQ that we had and scaled up the recipe to 85 brats and they turned out amazing! I'm not even a fan of brats and I enjoyed these. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great basic recipe. I learned some tricks from Packer tailgaters. First blanch the brats in ice water for about 15 minutes before putting in the previously heated slow cooker mix. I also add 1/2 stick of butter to the recipe. Cook for 2hrs on high, then shift to low. Grill and then return to cooker til ready to serve. Comes out great and is convenient to hold til guests are ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Sullivan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
All I need say is, yum! Simple and easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Excellent!! I used 3 bottles of beer for the 10 brats, 2 large onions sliced in rings, and 1 sliced bell pepper. Like others, I love it that you can cook the brats in the beer ahead of time. Then just heat them on the grill when you're ready to eat. I also cooked the onion/pepper mixture down and let them caramelize. Everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These are excellent! I used a bottle of Newcastle Brown Ale and a can of Bud Light (it's all I had on hand) and it turned out fantastic. I served these with sauerkraut and the carmelized onions and it was sooooo tasty. They grill up so beautifully and could easily be made ahead in the beer and then grilled later. Perfect for Super Bowl parties, casual get-togethers, Oktoberfests, etc. A keeper! Update: my husband sliced the left over brats and put them on a frozen pizza--Hello? Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
It's the age-old question... which came first, the beer boil or the grill? I've tried both methods and I tend to gravitate toward this one. The gentle poaching fully cooks the brats and leaches out some of the fat which can cause flame flare-ups on the grill. Plus, I just like the fact that this is a primo do-ahead recipe. Poach in the a.m., refrigerate until dinnertime, finish on the grill. Oh, and the beer caramelized onions are sooo not to be missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Love them but I made some changes: i only used 2 bottles of beer with 10 brats and I used 2 large onions sliced in rings. I boiled them uncovered until the beer was gone and all that remained were the brats and fully cooked onions that were starting to carmelize. I moved the brats to the grill and browned them up....then topped them with the carmelized onions. Great reviews from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Dude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Very good! Excellent flavor. I, too, used Newcastle brown ale, fresh garlic and sliced up 3 onions vs only 1 (we like lots of onion on our brats). I thought the 2 tsp red pepper flakes was a tad too much heat so next time I will use only 1 tsp. I also simmered the brats for 30 minutes instead of only 15 min. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Great table-fare. Boiled as said but only used 1 tsp. red pepper flakes and then grilled to perfection. Returned to the beer broth to keep warm until all the guest arrived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEENCAROLH
Living In: Frankfort, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States