Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Very good! Excellent flavor. I, too, used Newcastle brown ale, fresh garlic and sliced up 3 onions vs only 1 (we like lots of onion on our brats). I thought the 2 tsp red pepper flakes was a tad too much heat so next time I will use only 1 tsp. I also simmered the brats for 30 minutes instead of only 15 min. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Great table-fare. Boiled as said but only used 1 tsp. red pepper flakes and then grilled to perfection. Returned to the beer broth to keep warm until all the guest arrived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEENCAROLH
Living In: Frankfort, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These were amazing. I used newcastle brown ales and added an orange bell pepper in with the onions. I also used minced garlic instead of powder. I boiled the brats for about 30 min and this gave the beer more time to cook into the brats and reduce. I grilled the brats on low and kept reducing the beer on high until I had a wonderful chuttney. Wonderful dish. I will definitly do these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Thanks good recipe! I did add butter to the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
My family loves brauts on the grill. The flavor of these was so good that we now cook them this way every time. This recipes is a HUGE hit with us. The beer flavor is a perfect addition! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
The bratwurst turned out great. However the onion-beer mixture was inedible. If I were to make it again, I'd strain the onions after I removed the brats and saute them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These were a big hit with the guys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
We love beer brats and they have become a staple for our cookouts! I recommend boiling the brats in the beer longer for stronger flavoring, and then just 'browning & crisping' them on the grill. 5 stars any day of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Not bad...not bad at all. I'm not usually a huge fan of brauts but these turned out pretty darn good. I used the cheapest beer I had on hand, 2 cans of Coors Light and used a jumbo pack of 12 Johnsonville beer brats. I also doubled the onions. Tossed everything in a slow cooker and let it sit for about 4 hours. I took the brats out of the "beer bath" and cooked them on low on the grill. This gave them better color, if not they don't look very appetizing. The grilling also gave it a little sweetness. I also took the onions out of the "beer bath" and sauteed a little to carmelized. Hubby liked them pretty well, but to my surprise my picky eater gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This recipe turned out awesome. I love the combination of beer and bratwurst; using different types of beer also infuse their own unique flavors. Using a dark Porter will give the bratwursts a more robust malty flavor. Using a lighter lager like most commercial beers will have a softer flavor that's slightly more hoppy and sweet. I've recommended it to friends! Thanks for the post! If you like beer bratwursts you should check out my malt liquor bratwursts at www.eatinginbed.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating In Bed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States