Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
The beef was fantastic this way. Cutting up the meat was the biggest chore, and all the work is on the front end. The only change I made from the recipe was to saute the cabbage in a bit of the bacon grease instead of microwaving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is the only beef stew recipe I can imagine ever using again. I made it as written, it was delicious. I doubled the beer to make it soupier and added about 1 1/2 tb of brown sugar to cut the bitterness, and it was delicious. I made it today but just added the potatoes diced, used 32 oz of beef stock (had a recovering alcoholic eating with us) and a fresh tomato, and it was delicious. Can't really go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe! I did omit the beer, and added a bunch of veggies it was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I used just the stew part of the recipe and OMG yum. I browned the beef and threw all the other ingredients into the crockpot to cook throughout the day. I used a bottle of Killian's Irish Red. My roomies loved it too, I was quite stingy with the leftovers I'm afraid! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I wanted something different for St. Paddy's day so I thought I'd try this recipe. It was good but the beer was so strong it overpowered everything else so it wasn't as yummy as it could've been. Next time I would water the beer down and I think it would make it taste a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
At the very last minute I decided to surprise my husband with a St.Patricks day special dinner. I found this recipe and we both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was my first Irish Stew and I made it for 4 other families besides my own...I am still hearing about how much they loved it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Did not live up to the hype.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Etherton
Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great flavor all around! There wasn't as many vegetables as I would have liked. I think I would add more carrots and maybe some green beans to the stew, and cut back on the beef a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Camensky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was very, very delicious, but pretty labor-intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivanandmarcia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States