Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe with a few additions. I added more carrots after the sauce was cooked, and can see that you can easily add other vegetables as well. I used more garlic, and as suggested by another review, I used a draught beer and their was no bitterness. While the Colcannon was really nice tasting, it was too much, Next time, I will serve it on the side, and not make a well as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Prepared this exactly according to instructions. Very good. Husband and stepson raved! Used Guinness draught, not Guinness stout. Guinness draught is very smooth and not bitter in the least. It has a ping pong like ball in the can called a widget. It is supposed to be there so don't freak out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren & Mary Murray

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Made it with Irish Death - delicious! Not a lowfat meal, so won't be having it often, but it sure was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Really good! Will definitely make again, but I would rather just make it on the stovetop, I didnt find the meat got as tender as I wanted in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
So easy and so delicious! I love the idea of serving the stew over Colcannon instead of putting potatoes in the stew. It made the dish so rich and creamy. I will definitely adding this to my winter recipe repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This stew is absolutely delicious!! I made it in a slow cooker the day before a football party. Made the Calcannon the day of the party & easily reheated the stew. So many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellent! Excellent...I sauted the cabbage in the bacon pan and cooked the stew in the crock pot; but other than that, followed the recipe to a tee. this will be done again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
First let me say that ANY stew that gets 5 stars from me is outstanding...I'm NOT a stew lover! Add to that, I'm not a fan of things braised in beer. And that's ALL this is braised in. But boy, we both loved this; did not change the recipe at all. And it will be repeated...in fact I'll probably double the recipe next time so I can freeze it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kara
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was amazing! While it was in the oven it made the whole house smell so good and the beef was so tender. Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States