Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was very good as is. FYI, not meant for guiness Extra Stout, use the guiness in the black cans (4-pack I believe) The Calcannon was a nice suprise. Though After we ran out, we used boiled potatoes from the corn beef and that may have been a better fit with the stew. Next time I will add potatoes to this towards the end and make Calcannon with another entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Great Recipe!!! Made this for my Irish husband for St. Paddy's Day. It was great. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melwinna1
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Loved it-- this will be a favorite on my table for a long Time. I can't Wait to make it for My Friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melwinna1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was very good and easy to make. Served it at a party and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The flavor of this dish was incredibly good..and the aroma as it was cooking??? Yes, it made your mouth water! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGTMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Hebron, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
So yummy! This recipe is very similar to how I usually make my beef stew. I loved the idea of serving the stew over colcannon instead of adding potatoes to the stew. It was one of those "why didn't I think of that?" moments! Made a couple of minor modifications as some reviewers mentioned: used about 3/4 cup of milk for the colcannon and sauteed the shredded cabbage in the bacon fat. And because I like them, I used about a pound of baby carrots in the stew. Otherwise I followed the recipe as is. All I had on hand was Sam Adams Winter Lager and it was tasty but next time I think I'll use Guiness (and a little brown sugar to cut the bitterness)like I usually do for my beef stew. And there will definitley be many next times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I have made this several times and it is wonderful! I use a porter style beer and we love it. It's not hard to make, so this is a staple for the winter months at our house. If I could give this 10 stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I have made this three times now and my husband and I love it! I have tried it with three different types of dark beer and it was delicious each time. I follow the recipe exactly as written - no alterations are necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made this recipe as written - absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssenior

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe with a few additions. I added more carrots after the sauce was cooked, and can see that you can easily add other vegetables as well. I used more garlic, and as suggested by another review, I used a draught beer and their was no bitterness. While the Colcannon was really nice tasting, it was too much, Next time, I will serve it on the side, and not make a well as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States