Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
4 cloves of garlic instead of 2. 4 slices of bacon instead of 3. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canal Flats, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
SOO GOOOD... didn't have the beer so used beef broth, and it was amazing!!! I love the potatoes, and so do my children, so I think we'll be making them like that from now on!!! LOL I also used my crockpot as my children are all under 5 and I really don't have the time to watch a pot boil... LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was yummy. Next time, during the second part of the braising process, if I do it in the oven, I need to remember to stir every 15 minutes or so. The top part was pretty brown and dried out when I took it out so I stirred and put the lid back on to rehydrate so that was fine. Flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This has a wonderful flavor and easy to make! Made without preplanning, so I didnt have any cabbage, so just made the mashed potatoes. My entire family loved it. I had an Oktoberfest beer to use and it tasted great, not bitter at all. I used chuck steak vs. roast, which made it quicker to cube as that is what I had planned to cook and was just looking for a different recipe. Will be making this alot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
The whole family loves this which is a miracle considering we have six children, several of which are picky eaters. We don't drink alcohol so substituted beef broth for the beer and it was still amazingly delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very tasty. I added celery and would probably add just a little more beer next time. I used Rock Art Brewery Stump Jumper Gnarly Stout and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I added mushrooms and used beef stock instead of beer; also added a pinch of cinnamon for flavor depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLexiSC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This stew is Great ! The Colcannon is good too, but I like Diane's Colcannon a little better. So I make this stew and Diane's Colcannon (which I use diced ham instead of the bacon) for St. Patty's Day ! Can't wait till St. Patty's Day; can almost smell that stew acookin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Ooooh, this was good! I didn't think I'd like the colcannon, but it was awesome. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States