Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was yummy. Next time, during the second part of the braising process, if I do it in the oven, I need to remember to stir every 15 minutes or so. The top part was pretty brown and dried out when I took it out so I stirred and put the lid back on to rehydrate so that was fine. Flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This has a wonderful flavor and easy to make! Made without preplanning, so I didnt have any cabbage, so just made the mashed potatoes. My entire family loved it. I had an Oktoberfest beer to use and it tasted great, not bitter at all. I used chuck steak vs. roast, which made it quicker to cube as that is what I had planned to cook and was just looking for a different recipe. Will be making this alot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
The whole family loves this which is a miracle considering we have six children, several of which are picky eaters. We don't drink alcohol so substituted beef broth for the beer and it was still amazingly delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very tasty. I added celery and would probably add just a little more beer next time. I used Rock Art Brewery Stump Jumper Gnarly Stout and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I added mushrooms and used beef stock instead of beer; also added a pinch of cinnamon for flavor depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLexiSC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This stew is Great ! The Colcannon is good too, but I like Diane's Colcannon a little better. So I make this stew and Diane's Colcannon (which I use diced ham instead of the bacon) for St. Patty's Day ! Can't wait till St. Patty's Day; can almost smell that stew acookin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This "Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon" recipe was very delicious! I actually hate the taste of beer, but I wanted to make an authentic ale-based recipe from the land of my ancestors just for the experience. I was pleasantly surprised that the EXCEPTIONALLY FLAVORFUL gravy didn't taste anything at all like beer. I am gluten and dairy intolerant, so I had to adapt the recipe to my needs. For the stew, I left out the flour (so I had mine with a perfectly-fine light reduction instead of with a thicker gravy) and made it with gluten-free St. Peter's beer and gluten-free Worcestershire sauce. I also threw in a few extra carrots as per a few other reviews. For the colcannon, I used vegetable stock (instead of milk) and natural bacon grease (instead of butter). I can't think of any way to improve this recipe: it is perfect "as is." I will be making it again many, many more times. Thank you MNIKOLAISEN for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Ooooh, this was good! I didn't think I'd like the colcannon, but it was awesome. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Yummy!!!A must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Made this St. Patrick's eve, cooking entirely on stove top. I steamed the cabbage a bit longer to make it more tender, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. A hit with hubby and all 4 kids! So delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Masian Wack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States