Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I used just the stew part of the recipe and OMG yum. I browned the beef and threw all the other ingredients into the crockpot to cook throughout the day. I used a bottle of Killian's Irish Red. My roomies loved it too, I was quite stingy with the leftovers I'm afraid! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I wanted something different for St. Paddy's day so I thought I'd try this recipe. It was good but the beer was so strong it overpowered everything else so it wasn't as yummy as it could've been. Next time I would water the beer down and I think it would make it taste a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
At the very last minute I decided to surprise my husband with a St.Patricks day special dinner. I found this recipe and we both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was my first Irish Stew and I made it for 4 other families besides my own...I am still hearing about how much they loved it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Did not live up to the hype.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Etherton
Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great flavor all around! There wasn't as many vegetables as I would have liked. I think I would add more carrots and maybe some green beans to the stew, and cut back on the beef a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Camensky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was very, very delicious, but pretty labor-intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivanandmarcia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Made this for our St Patrick's day lunch at work, they were practically licking their plates! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made this Gluten Free (by substituting Red Bridge gluten free beer and my gluten free flour mix, [my recipe on here or use rice flour].) This was incredibly flavorful despite my not having bay leaves or thyme!! (I sprinkled in some marjoram instead.) I will also try it in a crock pot. I'm sure my Irish great-grandmother must have made this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Awesome. Have made several times already. Kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States