Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
First let me say that ANY stew that gets 5 stars from me is outstanding...I'm NOT a stew lover! Add to that, I'm not a fan of things braised in beer. And that's ALL this is braised in. But boy, we both loved this; did not change the recipe at all. And it will be repeated...in fact I'll probably double the recipe next time so I can freeze it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kara
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was amazing! While it was in the oven it made the whole house smell so good and the beef was so tender. Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My family absolutely loved this recipe. I cooked it in the slow cooker on low for about 8 hours after browning the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was exceptionally tasty and not very hard to make. This will become a cold weather staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I looked for a St Patrick's Day meal that didn't involve either corned beef or lamb, and this is what I chose. We were not disappointed! I used a red beer instead of a dark (because that was what I had in the house), and, like some other reviewers, I cooked the cabbage in the bacon drippings, rather than the microwave. I did wind up thickening the stew liquid with more flour before I served it, which made a rich and tangy gravy. I used a bit less meat and added more carrots and onions, but that is just a personal preference. Since I didn't have a Dutch oven, I simmered the pot on the top of the stove at low heat for a couple of hours, and the beef was melt-in-your-mouth tender. Serving the stew on top of the colcannon was a wonderful combination. This is a definite keeper! But getting 8 servings from it, as written? Not in my house - perhaps we just enjoyed it TOO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Delicious crowd-pleaser! I will definitely make this again. Changes I'd make: 2 cups of onions and 2 cups of carrots (because I like lots of veggies and they sort of disappear in the beef mixture)... add 2 cups of celery and add another cup of cabbage to the colcannon. This meal absolutely needs soda bread on the side, so don't serve it without it! There's some excellent juices that would go to waste without some matching Irish bread to soak them up ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Love this recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great Irish Stew recipe. I adjusted the seasonings somewhat to suit my own tastes (more garlic and pepper), and I added some tomato paste and chopped celery to the mix. Made it for St. Paddy's day for a crowd and everyone raved about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: England, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I really wanted to like this by the number of high reviews, but, this didn't work at all for us. I made exactly as the recipe stated using Guinness dark beer. It turned out unbelievably strong and bitter. The colcannon had good flavor, but, we couldn't eat the stew at all. Recipe called for dark beer....maybe the problem was using Guinness, but, this did not work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Fantastic! I pan seared my beef and then cooked for about 5 hours on low in a crockpot. It came out perfect. As for the potatoes, they are perfect as is, but I added some dried minced onion and a little cream cheese and sour cream, which makes them a little creamier. This goes great with the Irish Soda Bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States