Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Made this St. Patrick's eve, cooking entirely on stove top. I steamed the cabbage a bit longer to make it more tender, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. A hit with hubby and all 4 kids! So delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Masian Wack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I hate to be such a downer, but this was not to my liking at all. :( Admittedly, I only made the stew part of this recipe, so I am basing my opinion solely on that part of it. Since I was only cooking for two people, I scaled everything by half (I made 4 servings worth, expecting leftovers). As such, I used half a bottle of beer (Guinness Stout) - but I wish I would have used the entire bottle instead.... After removing the lid from my Dutch oven (i.e. after the first 45 minutes), my stew wasn't as saucy as I thought it "should" be. By the time I took my stew out of the oven, most of the liquid had completely evaporated. My meat was dry and overcooked and the stew itself had a bitter aftertaste. Considering this was the star of our St. Paddy's Day meal, everything else I served with it lost its appeal as well. Maybe this will float your boat, but it did absolutely nothing for me. Thanks anyways, MNIKOLAISEN. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Simply awesome! No changes required - except I went with the idea of softening the cabbage in the bacon grease - worked out great! Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was very good as is. FYI, not meant for guiness Extra Stout, use the guiness in the black cans (4-pack I believe) The Calcannon was a nice suprise. Though After we ran out, we used boiled potatoes from the corn beef and that may have been a better fit with the stew. Next time I will add potatoes to this towards the end and make Calcannon with another entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Great Recipe!!! Made this for my Irish husband for St. Paddy's Day. It was great. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melynda Richard Wrightstone
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Loved it-- this will be a favorite on my table for a long Time. I can't Wait to make it for My Friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was very good and easy to make. Served it at a party and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The flavor of this dish was incredibly good..and the aroma as it was cooking??? Yes, it made your mouth water! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGTMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Hebron, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
So yummy! This recipe is very similar to how I usually make my beef stew. I loved the idea of serving the stew over colcannon instead of adding potatoes to the stew. It was one of those "why didn't I think of that?" moments! Made a couple of minor modifications as some reviewers mentioned: used about 3/4 cup of milk for the colcannon and sauteed the shredded cabbage in the bacon fat. And because I like them, I used about a pound of baby carrots in the stew. Otherwise I followed the recipe as is. All I had on hand was Sam Adams Winter Lager and it was tasty but next time I think I'll use Guiness (and a little brown sugar to cut the bitterness)like I usually do for my beef stew. And there will definitley be many next times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I have made this several times and it is wonderful! I use a porter style beer and we love it. It's not hard to make, so this is a staple for the winter months at our house. If I could give this 10 stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States