Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made this Gluten Free (by substituting Red Bridge gluten free beer and my gluten free flour mix, [my recipe on here or use rice flour].) This was incredibly flavorful despite my not having bay leaves or thyme!! (I sprinkled in some marjoram instead.) I will also try it in a crock pot. I'm sure my Irish great-grandmother must have made this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Awesome. Have made several times already. Kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was the hit of our St. Patrick's Potluck! I made the colcannon with turkey bacon, and it came out great! Like it so much, I plan on making that as a side for other dishes. The beauty of it is that it was so flavorful, none of the kids realized they were eating a veggie along with the potatoes! Great recipes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was awesome! My mom that doesn't like anything loved this as did my 3 year old :) Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Gates

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
A new family fave! Changes: Put in the slow cooker for 8-9 hrs on low I still browned the meat and I used olive oil. Added beef broth as needed and sauce was still very thick. Added about 2 cups of beef broth. Used instant red potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I really didn't think my family would like it because of the Guinness. No fear. It was loved and my husband even commented that Colcannon was needed to balance the rich flavor of the stew, preferring it to plain mashed potatoes. Thank goodness for an alternative to corned beef. Next time, I'm going to try it with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I was very impressed with this recipe. It does take some time to cook, but the results were great. I didn't have a dark beer at the time. I used one cup light beer and 1/3 cup port wine. Again, very good. My only suggestion would be to up the amount of ingredients, especially the colcannon. I followed the directions as is, for 8 servings, and only got about 4 decent size servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
LOVE it! Even the picky 5 and 2 year olds loved it. Used Guinness as my dark beer, organic, grass-fed beef and kale instead of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe! I used Guiness and some extra seasonings on the meat. I also simmered it with the lid on for several hours and the meat was melt-in-your-mouth tender! I took this to a St Patrick's Day dinner and it was a huge hit! Next time I am going to save myself a huge amount of time by buying stew meat that is already cut up! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States