Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
One of our new faves! I use a whole onion and a pound of baby carrots and about a Guinness and a half and let it simmer longer to reduce. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Used Killian's Red. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My family even are it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very easy to prepare and taste is awesome! Wonderful flavors from beer cooking veggies and meat. For the colcannon, I was in a rush and since just for DH and me, I just used part of a bag of pre-cut coleslaw mix and it worked out great. Will be making this again, specially during March and St. Paddy's Day. Thanks for the rec
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was great! I made it exactly as written. The chuck roast took a long time to cut up. Used Newcastle brown ale. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I'm not real fond of Irish stew, but it was a great combination served over the top of colcannon. While the colcannon was also good, I can't say that I would make this one again. There are better colcannon recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
So flavourful! I used a Montreal brewed beer called 'St Ambroise Scotch Ale'. Delish!!! I'm sure the beer you use is everything in this recipe so choose wisely. I only had stewing beef on hand so that's what I used. The Colcannon was also good. I had to add another 1/4 cup milk to give it the consistency I was after. Don't wait for St. Patty's day to make this one. It's a terrific easy stew recipe. Thanks much MNIKOLAISEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
4 cloves of garlic instead of 2. 4 slices of bacon instead of 3. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canal Flats, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
SOO GOOOD... didn't have the beer so used beef broth, and it was amazing!!! I love the potatoes, and so do my children, so I think we'll be making them like that from now on!!! LOL I also used my crockpot as my children are all under 5 and I really don't have the time to watch a pot boil... LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States