Beer-Boiled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Great, different taste than I'm used to in shrimp. Next time I would cut way down on the butter (was just a bit too rich for me as written), and add some garlic. I found that it was absolutely necessary to let the shrimp sit in the beer mixture for the full half-hour...improved the taste and made them exceptionally tender. My husband loved this dish! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
WOW! I tried this recipe and it came out de-lici-ous! I actually made this with 2 1/2 pounds of shrimp, half the butter and 2 beers to boil in, followed the rest as stated and also took reviewers advise and added old bay.. I also added garlic and added bay leaves and let it sit for 30 minutes (shripm will not turn rubbery!). Came out stupendous! served with yellow rice and had a restaurant quality meal made by a trusty person (me, lol) I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is better than "outa this world"! I did reduce the butter (Whew!) to 2 sticks (to reduce my guilt) and then followed recipe as directed. I also saved liquid and used it in a big pot of shrimp creole and it was one of the best I've ever done and whatever guilt I had is long gone!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
YUMMERS! I had 2 pounds of shrimp and began the recipe from memory. I thought the original stated 1 cup of butter, so I accordingly halved it to 1/2 a cup, or one stick. I used 2 beers and added garlic and Old Bay Spice as well. The shrimp was divine! Great with pasta and French bread to suck up all the juices. I have frozen the rest of the broth for fish sou someday. So, even though I inadvertently cut the butter WAY down (and I am a butter freak), it was superb and I will keep to the one stick whenever I make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I love this I am making it as I type for the second time. Great flavor only things I do different..... add a garlic clove and 1 tablespoon of old bay!!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe is EXCELLENT! Simple and simply delicious. I didn't change a thing and my entire family LOVED the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by verysinfulcook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dublin, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This recipe was SO EASY that it's hard to believe it was SO GOOD!! My whole family LOVED it (even the kids). I halved the recipe, and still had plenty of stock left for soup or gumbo. I will be making this recipe again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was great! I didn't have any onions, but I will definitely try it with them next time. I cut way back on the butter, mainly because I served them with clarified butter. I also added garlic cloves and Old Bay. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
So easy! I used less butter and waited to salt the broth only after it was ready. I didn't let it stand for half an hour. I recommend having some crusty french bread handy for the broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
this was awesome!! broke the golden rule and made it for the first time for company....outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States