Beer-Boiled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was good! Made it Christmas Eve, everyone liked it. The French Bread was perfect with it. I only used one stick of butter, next time I will use more, it was too thin I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I made this recipe recently and, while VERY leery to whether or not the shrimp would get rubbery, I went ahead with the 1/2 stewing (kept it on a simmer instead of completly off). Shrimp turned out terrific; succulent and slightly firm yet turned to butter with a few bites. The flavor left alittle to be desired from, even with the addition of a clove of garlic added ( to my 1/3 batch, mind you). I WILL cook shrimp in this manner again, but will add old bay and tabasco to taste next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is really good. I did doctor it a bit by adding more seasoning the second time I made this. I added garlic and red pepper flakes for more of a kick. Great with steamed rice or over toasted garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
very original flavor. everyone in family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I found this dish to be bland. I substituted olive oil for the butter, added garlic, and used good beer. It still was short on flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Excellent - the beer added gave the shrimp a very good, and different, flavor. Also, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was very good add a few extras. Lots of garlic, seafood boil seasoning with the shrimp I also put crabs and must say they were delicious, We could not stop eatting them. thanks for keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOLJO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
very good--easy--like others, cut down a bit on butter and added minced garlic. We LOVE good clam chowder, and will try the remaining broth in our recipe. All in all, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Could not get any easier. I added garlic and old bay to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I live in Belgium and enjoy any recipe that lets me cook with one of their delicious beers. :) I made this with 1 kg (2 pounds) of shrimp, I used half the butter the recipe called for and 2 beers (1 Leffe blond, 1 Leffe bruin). Bersides the onion and salt, I also added a couple sprinkles of cajun seasoning, 4 cloves of garlic and 4 bay leaves. It is very important to let the shrimp sit for 30 min (or more!) after simmering, it really soaks up all the flavors. Thanks NJMOM for a yummy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States