Beer-Boiled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe, it reminds me a lot of Bubba Gumps' Shrimpin' Dippin' Broth. I used a Czech Pilsner beer and it was really interesting, I used more shrimp just to "dilute" the richness the butter introduces to the dish. Overall, I loved it and will be making again. I am interested though as to know what other kinds of beer did people use?? Thanks! . . . .p.s. great with lots of fresh lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mareadona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I felt this was really bland. I kicked it a bit by: 2 cans a beer ( any beer will do) 1 qt water, 3T hot pepper flakes, 1/4 c of old bay. For the onion, I cut 3 onions in half and allowed them to boil for 10-12 minutes then added my shrimp and boiled until pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This has to be my new favorite recipe. And I am not a beer person! Only changes I made were to toss in 2 bay leaves, a little garlic, and a wedge of lemon...and I was debating whether it would be rude to lick my plate! Used a pound of shrimp for 2 of us- and could have used more... cant wait to try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SusieQ
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I used 3 lbs of the biggest shrimp I could find. Used 1 1/2 sticks of butter, and 24 ounces of Budweiser. Added 4 chopped garlic cloves, 1 1/2 tbs of Old Bay and 1 tbs of red crushed pepper. I garnished the bowls with a little fresh chopped parsley. Served it with crusty french bread. Looked beautiful and tasted de-licious! My husband raved and raved- he wouldn't shut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great tasting shrimp and so easy!!! I too added some garlic like other people suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Nice! I added some old bay the first time and Cajun spice mix the second.... Both were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I was hesitant when I originally looked at this recipe however I needed something different and this is definitely different. As you've read time again - don't over cook the shrimp. I cooked a pound of shrimp an cut the recipe down to one bottle of beer and a half a cup of butter. Wonderfully different and a huge success at my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Made it for 2 people with 2 pounds. Wished we would had bought 4 pounds by the end of eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My Sailor brought home several cases of Canadian beer from one of his sea tours in the Navy. I used it to make this dish and while I can't stomach drinking it out of the can, it was delicious as a broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Martin Meirs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Check, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Kent, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
wow!!! this was amazing!!!! The only thing i did differently was to add some garlic when the onions were almost done!! YUMMY!! the sauce this made is amazing and I am going to freeze it and make some kind of stew with it.... I do wish I had brought the beer to a boil and then put the shrimp in but it was amazing no matter what!!!! would give it six stars if i could!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States