Beer-Boiled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My husband and I loved this!! First time boiling shrimp and it was easy-peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Tried this recipe this evening. Not impressed, shrimp was tough and tasted like beer. Followed directions but halved the recipe as only had 2 pounds of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjwidemark4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is a pretty good recipe. I cut the butter in half though, and I think next time I'd cut it even further. I also spiced up the boil with my favorite Cajun mix. I'll definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I felt this was pretty bland. We generously applied Old Bay after serving to salvage the shrimp! Maybe it's important to let it sit overnight in the fridge... but I'm not interested enough to try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Have to admit I was quite disappointed after reading all the good reviews. I did add garlic and Old Bay as suggested by other reviewers as they sounded like good additions. My family was not impressed and I had leftovers, which is unusual when I make shrimp. To add insult to injury, no one wanted to take the leftovers, so they ended up in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
If you want delicious shrimp that are easy to peel EVERY TIME, use this recipe, but better with a few changes. I put a few extra ingredients too. For up to 20lbs of shrimp I add bell peppers, celery, garlic and lemons, and the secret extra ingredient is a couple of ounces of Zataran's Liquid Crab Boil seasoning.I don't saute' the onions, or other veggies; just put them in all together at the begining. And Very Important; don't add the salt until the shrimp begin to separate from the shells. Then add salt to taste and let it soak. I add more salt than the recipe too. And one other thing; you can use less beer if you want to. I use about one 12oz can for every 4 lbs of shrimp. I know, everyone says it not enough beer, or you need to put water in, but trust me, just keep stirring the shrimp every now and then, and you'll be surprised how much liquid you end up with at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Sorry, but I found no wow factor in this dish. Very bland. Ended up using half the shrimp and all the broth for Jambalaya the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is such a great easy recipe. I love to have a loaf of crispy warm bread and after I peel the shrimp I sit it on the bread. This lets the buttery juices soak into the bread. So good! I do spice it up a bit with more pepper and I added a teaspoon of sugar that gave it a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Angier, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Wonderful! Did use the suggestions of adding Old Bay (will add more next time), garlic and bay leaf. I really enjoyed them cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summergirl11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States