Beer Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I agree with others in that for one, these were pretty bland, and two, the taste of beer really comes through (which for me, wasn't a bad thing). I added finely shredded cheddar and some garlic powder to give this more ooomph (without succeeding) and was forced to add more beer as the dough was nowhere near the consistancy it needed to be. Made these as drop biscuits and they paired well with the roast beef hash leftovers I had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
These were really salty. I did use butter instead of shortening, but I can't imagine it made them this salty. Next time, I think I will substitute self-rising flour for the all-purpose flour with baking powder and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Very easy recipe to make- As always it's better to check the reviews. I've made this twice; once exactly as the recipe called for, once with more shortning and less salt. When made exactly as the recipe the buscuits come out very dry and tastless. Still a better taste then the biscuits in the fridgerated section, though. Good with a sausage gravy or hamburger gravy. I used a full bodied lager because that is what I had on hand both times, so the biscuits had a very deep flavor. I'm not sure how you'd get them to rise more because both ways they were pretty flat. I added a star for how easy this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAWASEWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was pretty good. My youngest son loved it, but he got a big kick out of the fact he was eating something with "beer" in it. Would do again but not a super favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ruther Glen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I was really excited to make these, but they didn't turn out well. They didn't rise much and they were very very salty and the beer taste was really strong. I don't think I'll try the recipe again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This recipe did not rise as well as I would have hoped. It's just OK. It just tastes like a typical Non Buttermilk recipe as far as I can tell. Next time I'll just make one of those recipes or buy some buttermilk and not waste a good beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I loved these biscuits. They tasted great and were super easy to prepare. I didn't have shortening, and didn't have time to run to the store, so I used margarine instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Quite a good recipe, but needs some changes: 1. Cut the salt by half 2. Increase the shortening a bit - an extra tablespoon 3. Use lemonade instead of beer. This avoids problems with taste and makes the biscuit light, moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Didn't turn out. I don't know what happened. I did follow the recipe exactly, but they turn out like little hard disks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Tasted like beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States