Beer Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
Awesome smell when cooking! Also makes fantastic pizza crust! Just use a generous amount of flour when rolling out! Use lite beer, any brand as it all tastes the same when baked, for a few less calories. The biscuts that taste great... AND less filling! Big Scott
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGSCOTTK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingalls, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is an excellent recipe! Instead of beer, I used a Scottish Ale, and served these marvelous biscuits with blue cheese. It made an excellent appetizer. One tip to avoid hard biscuits: Make sure you follow the directions and preheat the oven to 450 degrees and do not over knead the dough. These biscuits will come out nice flakey, and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I enjoyed the ease, flavor and texture of these biscuits. Next time I am going to try baking them touching each other in a 9inch round cake pan and brush them with melted butter for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I made this again, and again they're excellent. If yours are too hard, perhaps you used too much flour? They need to be a little sticky when you cut them. I went easy on the flour when cutting too. I wonder if it's the choice of shortening too... I used Crisco's no trans fat (the green can). They are not hard at all, though they are not "brown". These are the best I've tried. I did put some cornmeal on my pizza stone just in case of sticking. These are really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
The buscuits were good, but you could certainly taste the beer. I used a light beer, but the taste was still prominent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Very easy to make. I will make them again, but will use less beer than the recipe calls for. My family thought the taste was a little too strong, but gobbled them down nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
These came out flat, tasteless and hard. My husband fed them to the ducks in the pond behind our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is a really great biscuit - simple, with a flavor on its own, without over powering other flavors when served with a meal or soup. I used this as an oven baked casserole topping once... very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misanthrope

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This was the easiest and best tasting from scratch recipe I have ever tried. Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
A little dry, but good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States