Beer Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I made several changes due to diet restrictions. I started with EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) and added chopped onion & garlic when "browning" the beef. I used a thick Luncheon Steak (the part just above the sirloin cut -- cheaper & just as lean.) I did not add salt and only used carrots rather than mixed veggies. (Hubby's preference.) Since I didn't use flour, I thickened it with a corn starch roux. Husband loved it!! Next time I might try No Yolk frozen noodles instead of potatoes or serve it over brown rice. I can think of several variations for future meals. But this is a great basic recipe for winter comfort meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. Whenever I make it the family and the neighbors show up at the door with their bowls. I usually cook for a crowd so I use 2 lbs. of stew meat, another 12 oz of beer and more tomato sauce to taste. I like to serve it with warm sourdough bread and real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
maybe i used the wrong stout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter Murray

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
We liked this. It was a little on the bland side though - and that was even after I added a dash of Worcestershire sauce. (I did use the tomato paste but not the tomato sauce, based on previous reviews, and there was plenty of liquid - tomato sauce would have added too much.) I think if I had braised the meat for a little longer with some onions, it might have had a better flavor. But overall it was good and had a nice, warm, "beery" scent (we used Samuel Adams Black Lager).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Definitely a simple recipe and perfect for a chilly Sunday afternoon. We didn't think it was too salty, but it could use some jazzing up with a few herbs/spices and more black pepper. Very tasty with warm beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I'm giving the recipe as written three stars, because it was alright but nothing fantastic. It would actually only be a two-star for me, but I increased it because I omitted all vegetables except potatoes, because I have a picky eater in the house, so some of the just-alrightness could be due to that. Instead of salt in the flour coating, I used garlic powder for a bit of additional flavour. I used about half of the recommended amounts of broth and beer, and omitted the tomato sauce altogether, but it was still quite liquidy. I did increase the tomato paste to about one and two-thirds cans, to try to thicken it and make up for the omitted tomato sauce, but if I make again, I won't do that. It was a tad too tomato-y for my taste. I used Red Stripe beer, which I thought added great flavour (though I wanted to use Guinness, but didn't have any). If I make again, I would definitely add fresh garlic and onion, at the beef-browning stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I tried several of the suggestions to this recipe and found it very, very good. I used about 3/8 c flour, 1/2 tbs kosher salt, 1 tbs of freshly ground black pepper & pepper medley. Used two bottles (24 ozs total) of lager beer to give more malty taste. Sub'd 1 10oz can of diced tomatoes with chopped jalapenos for the can of tomato sauce, but kept the paste in. Added 1 tbs of Vindaloo curry, 1 tbs of Worcestershire sauce, 2 cloves garlic, 2 small chopped vidalia onions, 1 cup of shredded red cabbage, 1 16 oz package of frozen Italian blend veggies, 2 bay leaves, maybe 1 1/2 c diced potatoes, used olive oil for the oil called for. I would call the result a thickened soup; not quite a stew, but without adding any cornstarch or flour roux (beyond the floured meat to start), I thought it thickened up nicely. Thanks to the originator of this recipe and all who contributed other ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRNAGY52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is the recipe for stew I've been looking for! A stick to your bones, warming,comfort food. I had to add my own variation like I always do. Added more salt and pepper to taste. Instead of frozen mixed veggies, I added fresh baby carrots, celery, and onions. I also added 2 T corn starch just because I like it thick. My husband came home from a very hard day and loved it! I will definitely file this recipe away and make it again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I like this recipe because it is quick, easy and tastes very good. For a quick stew, this is the recipe I would use. And I always bake some cornbread to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Too much tomato for us but otherwise a nice thick stew! Next time I'll have less tomato and add more salt. I also added some garlic and all purpose seasoning. That helped add some flavor to it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States