Beer Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. Whenever I make it the family and the neighbors show up at the door with their bowls. I usually cook for a crowd so I use 2 lbs. of stew meat, another 12 oz of beer and more tomato sauce to taste. I like to serve it with warm sourdough bread and real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I made several changes due to diet restrictions. I started with EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) and added chopped onion & garlic when "browning" the beef. I used a thick Luncheon Steak (the part just above the sirloin cut -- cheaper & just as lean.) I did not add salt and only used carrots rather than mixed veggies. (Hubby's preference.) Since I didn't use flour, I thickened it with a corn starch roux. Husband loved it!! Next time I might try No Yolk frozen noodles instead of potatoes or serve it over brown rice. I can think of several variations for future meals. But this is a great basic recipe for winter comfort meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is the recipe for stew I've been looking for! A stick to your bones, warming,comfort food. I had to add my own variation like I always do. Added more salt and pepper to taste. Instead of frozen mixed veggies, I added fresh baby carrots, celery, and onions. I also added 2 T corn starch just because I like it thick. My husband came home from a very hard day and loved it! I will definitely file this recipe away and make it again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Great meal. Easy to make with great flavor, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Thank you, thank you, thank you. This has got to be one of the best stews we've ever ate (and I'm not a stew person). It was very easy to make and although I added a little bit more spice, it turned out to be great. A huge hit within the family and all our friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I tried several of the suggestions to this recipe and found it very, very good. I used about 3/8 c flour, 1/2 tbs kosher salt, 1 tbs of freshly ground black pepper & pepper medley. Used two bottles (24 ozs total) of lager beer to give more malty taste. Sub'd 1 10oz can of diced tomatoes with chopped jalapenos for the can of tomato sauce, but kept the paste in. Added 1 tbs of Vindaloo curry, 1 tbs of Worcestershire sauce, 2 cloves garlic, 2 small chopped vidalia onions, 1 cup of shredded red cabbage, 1 16 oz package of frozen Italian blend veggies, 2 bay leaves, maybe 1 1/2 c diced potatoes, used olive oil for the oil called for. I would call the result a thickened soup; not quite a stew, but without adding any cornstarch or flour roux (beyond the floured meat to start), I thought it thickened up nicely. Thanks to the originator of this recipe and all who contributed other ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRNAGY52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Definitely a simple recipe and perfect for a chilly Sunday afternoon. We didn't think it was too salty, but it could use some jazzing up with a few herbs/spices and more black pepper. Very tasty with warm beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Too much tomato for us but otherwise a nice thick stew! Next time I'll have less tomato and add more salt. I also added some garlic and all purpose seasoning. That helped add some flavor to it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
We liked this. It was a little on the bland side though - and that was even after I added a dash of Worcestershire sauce. (I did use the tomato paste but not the tomato sauce, based on previous reviews, and there was plenty of liquid - tomato sauce would have added too much.) I think if I had braised the meat for a little longer with some onions, it might have had a better flavor. But overall it was good and had a nice, warm, "beery" scent (we used Samuel Adams Black Lager).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This tasted so good! It did come out a bit runny though.. Next time I won't add so much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stewartsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States