Beer Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Was very salty. If you make this recipe cut down on the beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I was a little disappointed with this recipe, especially since I thought it sounded good for a quick dinner. Too much tomato in this one. I like my beef stew in brown gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Quick, easy and wonderfully flexible recipe! I followed advice of previous reviewers and cut amounts on both broth and beer, and the consistency came out just right. Also added flour (cut out salt, plenty in broth and tomato sauce/paste) and spice (added curry, my favorite-- See spicy slow-cooker beef stew w/ curry...Mmmm!!) all together in plastic bag and shook to coat. Might leave out the cabbage next time, but it was fine. Thanks for a cold weather keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I tried several of the suggestions to this recipe and found it very, very good. I used about 3/8 c flour, 1/2 tbs kosher salt, 1 tbs of freshly ground black pepper & pepper medley. Used two bottles (24 ozs total) of lager beer to give more malty taste. Sub'd 1 10oz can of diced tomatoes with chopped jalapenos for the can of tomato sauce, but kept the paste in. Added 1 tbs of Vindaloo curry, 1 tbs of Worcestershire sauce, 2 cloves garlic, 2 small chopped vidalia onions, 1 cup of shredded red cabbage, 1 16 oz package of frozen Italian blend veggies, 2 bay leaves, maybe 1 1/2 c diced potatoes, used olive oil for the oil called for. I would call the result a thickened soup; not quite a stew, but without adding any cornstarch or flour roux (beyond the floured meat to start), I thought it thickened up nicely. Thanks to the originator of this recipe and all who contributed other ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRNAGY52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Too much tomato for us but otherwise a nice thick stew! Next time I'll have less tomato and add more salt. I also added some garlic and all purpose seasoning. That helped add some flavor to it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I read previous reviews, and NO, it is NOT too salty!! In fact, I needed to add a ton. I substituted frozen veg for canned and I added 1/2 a minced onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic. It was really missing a lot of flavor until I also added a little worshtershire and soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjmomie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Thank you, thank you, thank you. This has got to be one of the best stews we've ever ate (and I'm not a stew person). It was very easy to make and although I added a little bit more spice, it turned out to be great. A huge hit within the family and all our friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This tasted so good! It did come out a bit runny though.. Next time I won't add so much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stewartsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I liked this recipe, although it was more like a soup than a stew...there was so much liquid and it was runny, not thick like a stew should be. But, it had great flavor and the whole family liked it! I've made it two or three times now, and there's so much it lasts for at least 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I'm giving the recipe as written three stars, because it was alright but nothing fantastic. It would actually only be a two-star for me, but I increased it because I omitted all vegetables except potatoes, because I have a picky eater in the house, so some of the just-alrightness could be due to that. Instead of salt in the flour coating, I used garlic powder for a bit of additional flavour. I used about half of the recommended amounts of broth and beer, and omitted the tomato sauce altogether, but it was still quite liquidy. I did increase the tomato paste to about one and two-thirds cans, to try to thicken it and make up for the omitted tomato sauce, but if I make again, I won't do that. It was a tad too tomato-y for my taste. I used Red Stripe beer, which I thought added great flavour (though I wanted to use Guinness, but didn't have any). If I make again, I would definitely add fresh garlic and onion, at the beef-browning stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States