Beer Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I've always steared away from stew recipes but I found a good sale on stew beef so I thought I'd try it. WOW! This was the best stew I've ever had!... After I put my twist on it. I wanted to cover the entire vegie/meat mixture w/ liquid so I used the whole bottle of (light) beer, plus some chicken broth. I used the same amount of brown sugar & a heafty dash of cayenne pepper instead of chili sauce. In each bite I got the sweetness of the sugar finished with the spiciness of the cayenne. Chock full of flavor! The meat was fall-apart tender too. I cut it into bite sized pieces which I think contributed to the tenderness. Try this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
horrendous!! awful! blech! this isn't even a good start for a stew! i LOVE stew! i LOVE guinness! this ruined both of them! it came out way to thick. i gut the chili sauce to 1/2 cup and replaced with an extra half cup of guinness. the stew was still way too spicy. it was also way too sweet. both are things i enjoy in the right place.. they shouldn't be in stew. the few vegetables were lost in this slop. this did nothing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This has too much sugar for our tastes. It can be cut way down. Also, after reading the reviews, I realize not everyone understands what chili sauce is. It isn't a hot condiment. It's usually made with tomatoes, onions, vinegar, and a few seasonings, but nothing hot, no hot pepper or cayenne, etc. Chili sauce isn't the kind that is often used in Thai cooking. It's a beefed up catsup. If you make this via the quick method, you will get a stew that isn't cooked properly. The veggies will be raw and the meat tough. Put this in a slow cooker on high for two or three hours, maybe more, then cut down for two or three more hours at low. You want the meat to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I served this at a party, and I heard very good reviews. However, the other comments about it being too spicy are very true (why it's only 4 stars). If I made it again, I would try to find a milder chili sauce or use much less (and increase the beer perhaps). However, since it was already very spicy, I just set out some sour cream to stir in which helped. I used a brown ale for the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This was VERY good! I added a packet of onion soup mix as was suggested and this added a great taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Unlike other recipes I've tried using beer, this one was too beer-tasty for me. Next time I'll use less...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
My husband and I both really liked this and it's so easy. I think next time I'll add a little beef broth just to thin it down a little and add a little saltiness. But still REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Great flavor, but 2 hours at High is too short a time. Increased to 4 hours and the meat came out nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
The meat ended up a bit dry and there really wasn't a lot of "juice." I will probably tweak the beer amount or add a bit of stock in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUMANFACTORSUCF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Way to sweet needs lest brown sugar needs more water to boil and also needs a bit of cold water with flower or corn starch to thicken to make real mans stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ekalaka, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States