Beer Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was well recieved, and I will be making it again tonight with company coming. I substituted half a packet of a chile seasoning for the chile sauce and it had just a slight hint of spice. Instead of a slow cooker I let it simmer on the stovetop for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I made this recipe to go in cornish pasties, an English dish. I made a few for the family and 30 mini-pasties for a pot-luck at work (pastry filled with stew) Everyone went crazy for them. I didn't have chili sauce so instead I mixed almost a cup of ketchup with a few tablespoons of West Indian hot sauce (used in Roti's) It gave the stew enough heat without over powering the comfort food flavour of a good stew. Was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
horrendous!! awful! blech! this isn't even a good start for a stew! i LOVE stew! i LOVE guinness! this ruined both of them! it came out way to thick. i gut the chili sauce to 1/2 cup and replaced with an extra half cup of guinness. the stew was still way too spicy. it was also way too sweet. both are things i enjoy in the right place.. they shouldn't be in stew. the few vegetables were lost in this slop. this did nothing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I've always steared away from stew recipes but I found a good sale on stew beef so I thought I'd try it. WOW! This was the best stew I've ever had!... After I put my twist on it. I wanted to cover the entire vegie/meat mixture w/ liquid so I used the whole bottle of (light) beer, plus some chicken broth. I used the same amount of brown sugar & a heafty dash of cayenne pepper instead of chili sauce. In each bite I got the sweetness of the sugar finished with the spiciness of the cayenne. Chock full of flavor! The meat was fall-apart tender too. I cut it into bite sized pieces which I think contributed to the tenderness. Try this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I served this at a party, and I heard very good reviews. However, the other comments about it being too spicy are very true (why it's only 4 stars). If I made it again, I would try to find a milder chili sauce or use much less (and increase the beer perhaps). However, since it was already very spicy, I just set out some sour cream to stir in which helped. I used a brown ale for the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
A great recipe, but be careful what chili sauce you use! The one I bought was way too hot, and my stew was almost too hot to eat. Quick and easy though, and I think it would have been fabulous if I had made it with some milder sauce. Update: I made again being careful with the hot sauce and I found that a quarter cup of sugar was a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This recipe was great! Very filling, the husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
we did this recipe and were not impressed at all. the seasonings didn't taste right with the chili sauce it calls for and the vegtables had lost all of their form from sitting in the slow cooker all day. Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Unlike other recipes I've tried using beer, this one was too beer-tasty for me. Next time I'll use less...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
What can I say? It was a huge hit. I generally don't like stew, but this one was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mansfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States