Beer Battered Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Yum! In a pinch, I used Italian seasoning instead of the oregano. I was happy with the result. I also used an entire 12 oz. bottle of beer because the batter seemed too thin after only 8 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
These were awesome!!! I didn't put in any oregano, didn't have any. LOL! Other than that they were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was really easy and really tasty. I didn't feel the need to use any additional seasonings. If you want a little crunchier onion ring: batter it, coat it in corn meal, and then fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
this is a pretty good batter recipe to use as a base... i breaded onions and fish with this and both turned out beautiful and delicious... i agree with some of the other reviewers who noted how bland the recipe is...next time i will add some seasoned salt to the batter, to spice things up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
YUM!! This batter was easy to make and actually stayed on the onions during and after frying. I used a whole bottle of Bar Harbor Blueberry beer and it gave it a really robust flavor. Batter was nice and thick too. Would definitely use again, but maybe using a fry daddy or something. I used just an inch or so of oil in a cast iron skillet. I'm thinking they'll do better if they're fully submurged in oil. Can't wait to try it on other veggies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This recipe is so good. I always get compliments on the crunchiness of the batter. For those of you who think it's bland, it's important to season your onion rings right when they come out of the oil, while they are still really hot. I use a mixture of salt, pepper and a little cayenne pepper. Yummy. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Pretty good list of core ingredients. Now to spice it up season salt/paprika/cayenne/fresh cracked black/and a dash of hot sauce. Add a little of all and taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
A bit tasteless we added some garlic salt to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is very good for onion rings, but did not like it for softer veggies, particularly for squash, just not right. Definitely will use for onion rings, though I liked it better when I added a little yellow cornmeal to the batter, and did not like it too thick. Thinner batter made them crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di1949

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coolville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
to much work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States