Beer Battered Fried Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Awesomely delicious!!! Light and fluffy. Left beer/flour mix set for about 5 hours! Will definitely make this one over and over!! Thanks DJ!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This is an excellent batter. Light and crisp -- just right. I did let the flour & beer sit for 3 hours. Definitely try this one. Zucchini is wonderful fried with this batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Yummy! Excellent. I didn't wait 3 hours but it was excellent nonetheless. I used carrots, broccoli, and mozzarella. I thought the broccoli would be best but it was tasteless (could be the head). I'm glad I found this - thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This recipe was fantastic! Yes it was messy but very worth it in the end. I will definitely try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I use this recipe all of the time. My whole family enjoys it, even the picky ones who don't eat their veggies. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
I've used this recipe twice, and got rave reviews. Just keep in mind this is a VERY filling dish - so you might not want to serve it as the first in a multi-course meal. I used a very large variety of veggies - Broc. Caul. Mozz Cheese (very good) shrooms. It turns out very much like the veggies you get at Boardwalk Fries. Note: I used a deep fryer - I don't know how well this would work as pan frying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
The flavor of this is wonderful. I used other suggestions in adding some spices to flavor flour/beer mixture.I did not use the egg batter and it didn't make any difference.I used the same batter on shrimp too. Mmm. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Very easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
First, this IS a little messy but not too bad. I did skip the milk/egg batter ~ just used the beer/flour mix and certainly did NOT let it sit for 3 hours first: half hour worked fine for me. I added some all season salt and a dash of lemon pepper seasoning to the beer batter and fried a variety of veggies (green peppers, onions, and zucchini). We enjoyed these alot! Although I normally don't fry my veggies (as it severly decreases the nutritional value of the vegetables) this was a nice change and I might do it again every once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Try this recipe once and you will NEVER try it again. What a nightmare! I followed the recipe to the "T" because I had 1)never used a beer batter and 2) I had never attempted to fry vegetables in this manner. It was a ridiculous mess. The batter came out too hard when finished, that is, the part of the batter that stayed on. It took nearly 1 1/2 hours to fry less than 2 lbs of vegetables. I will admit that the taste was not terrible once done but who wants to go through that much trouble for an appetizer or side dish? Really? I was so frustrated at the end that it could have tasted like ambrosia from the Heavens and I would not have appreciated it. I will definitely NOT be making this again. Sorry D.J., Two thumbs down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States