Beer Battered Fried Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Awesomely delicious!!! Light and fluffy. Left beer/flour mix set for about 5 hours! Will definitely make this one over and over!! Thanks DJ!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This is an excellent batter. Light and crisp -- just right. I did let the flour & beer sit for 3 hours. Definitely try this one. Zucchini is wonderful fried with this batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Yummy! Excellent. I didn't wait 3 hours but it was excellent nonetheless. I used carrots, broccoli, and mozzarella. I thought the broccoli would be best but it was tasteless (could be the head). I'm glad I found this - thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This recipe was fantastic! Yes it was messy but very worth it in the end. I will definitely try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I use this recipe all of the time. My whole family enjoys it, even the picky ones who don't eat their veggies. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
I've used this recipe twice, and got rave reviews. Just keep in mind this is a VERY filling dish - so you might not want to serve it as the first in a multi-course meal. I used a very large variety of veggies - Broc. Caul. Mozz Cheese (very good) shrooms. It turns out very much like the veggies you get at Boardwalk Fries. Note: I used a deep fryer - I don't know how well this would work as pan frying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
The flavor of this is wonderful. I used other suggestions in adding some spices to flavor flour/beer mixture.I did not use the egg batter and it didn't make any difference.I used the same batter on shrimp too. Mmm. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Very easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
First, this IS a little messy but not too bad. I did skip the milk/egg batter ~ just used the beer/flour mix and certainly did NOT let it sit for 3 hours first: half hour worked fine for me. I added some all season salt and a dash of lemon pepper seasoning to the beer batter and fried a variety of veggies (green peppers, onions, and zucchini). We enjoyed these alot! Although I normally don't fry my veggies (as it severly decreases the nutritional value of the vegetables) this was a nice change and I might do it again every once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Try this recipe once and you will NEVER try it again. What a nightmare! I followed the recipe to the "T" because I had 1)never used a beer batter and 2) I had never attempted to fry vegetables in this manner. It was a ridiculous mess. The batter came out too hard when finished, that is, the part of the batter that stayed on. It took nearly 1 1/2 hours to fry less than 2 lbs of vegetables. I will admit that the taste was not terrible once done but who wants to go through that much trouble for an appetizer or side dish? Really? I was so frustrated at the end that it could have tasted like ambrosia from the Heavens and I would not have appreciated it. I will definitely NOT be making this again. Sorry D.J., Two thumbs down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States