Beer Battered Fried Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
FANTASTIC... I used another recipe for years and this one was BETTER.. I give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl McCann Kosty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My roomate and I made this recipe and loved it! You just have to give it time to cook! The zucchini was brown and crispy and very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used this recipe to fry long pieces of zucchini. It worked very well. I made one modification: after tasting the first piece I fried, I added salt to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This looked and tasted not to our liking and made a HUGE mess. It wouldn't get brown, it looked uncooked, not enough salt, and there was just too much crust on the vegetables. It was 90% crust, 10% vegetable it seemed like. A simple cornmeal batter is much better. (I used a deep fryer, if that changes anything.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I used this recipe for the batter portion of the recipe and thought is was fabulous. Makes A LOT of batter. I chose thawed and drained frozen butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
this turned out ok but not fabulous. The batter had a good flavor but it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Fantastic!! To the person who gave this one star, dry your veggies before you dip. Also, this is a fun recipe for special occasions. I don't think many prepare this for a side dish..lol! We gather the whole gang and everyone waits around the table in anticipation for the next batch to come out of the deep fryer. Thanks DJ for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyberry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was fantastic batter! I used it to fry zucchini. Was absolutely delicious. I didn't let it sit for 3 hrs and I tried it with the egg/flour dip and without-didn't notice a difference so stuck with just dipping into the batter and frying. Only addition was some creole seasoning to spice it up. Came out perfect, great texture, nice and crisp. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
mmmmmm.... this was yummy! Absolutely the best beer batter recipe that i've tried so far. As others have suggested, I added seasoning to the beer mixture, which was a good suggestion. And even though some people didn't think dipping in the dry mixture first wasn't necessary, I recommend it just because the wet batter seemed to stick to the veggies much better than if they weren't dredged in it first. (And I didn't let the beer batter mixture sit at room temp for 3 hours either... I used it immediately out of the fridge and after mixing it together and it was fine and dandy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodigirlpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a good dish but it needs a bit of flavor/spice added to make it really good. The recipe also fails to mention the gallon of oil needed to deep fry the veggies. I'd make this again with some flavor I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States