Beer Battered Fried Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
if you prepare as written it has no flavor. Even with the beer there's just no kick. It is better when you add some spices to the flour beer mixture. I've rated it as written. But it definitely has promise. Will use this as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was surprisingly good. I've had beer batter in the past and always felt it had a strange after taste to it but not this recipe. I fried up some mushrooms and onions. They were great. Will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I really liked this but I needed to add more flour to make it thick enough to stick to veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettymum

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redlands, California, USA
Photo by seanew121
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Great recipe. I recommend using a dark and malty beer with sweet onions like vidalias. Also, I seasoned the flour, egg and beer mixtures. Additionally, you gotta add corn starch to the flour. It makes the rings extra crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seanew121

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
love this recipe, I don't do any double dipping and I left out the milk and egg mixture, I also added extra seasonings (garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper and season salt to the beer and flour batter I also let my oil get extremly hot in the deep fryer before adding veggies (mushrooms, squash, zucchini, onions and broccoli), my family ask for this everytime we have any type of gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very bland. Although the better was a great consistency and had good crunch it just definitely needed A LOT more seasoning. I did think it was fun though frying things like carrots and bell peppers (which I used red). I used a light beer but next time I will use a dark (hoping for more flavor) and definitely some garlic powder and cayenne in with the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
A couple of problems - 1st the recipe does not state 2 cups flour - divided. I almost added all the flour with the beer - instead of 1 1/2 cups. In previous reviews people complained about the batter being too thick - this might be the problem. 2nd problem - No seasoning! No Salt, No Pepper! Nothing! and it tastes like it - Nothing! So why 3 stars? It has great potential - add your seasonings to taste and make sure your oil is 350 -375 - it takes a while brown - that is the nature of the beast. I am glad I made this - it needed a picture - but I think I won't give up my old method. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I really love this recipe! but it is a bit bland.so to the flour mixture I added pepper,seasoned salt,garlic powder,onion powder.use lots of all b/c some of it comes off with the 3rd batter.I did use all 3 steps of battering.love this.with the added seasoning its 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
A little bland and runny, but could be better with added spices and refrigeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
FANTASTIC... I used another recipe for years and this one was BETTER.. I give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl McCann Kosty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States