Beer Battered Fried Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2000
Very quick and easy to make! I'd modify the recipe: In Step 1:I'd add some seasoning to the beer batter mixture (ex.lemon pepper) In Step 2:Mix 1 egg and 1/2 cup milk I used zucchini and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
Really easy to make fried vegetable. Was a hit in my thanksgiving dinner. I would add some cornstarch to the seasoning mix to make it crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This was a very good batter...I'm not sure what the reason was for dipping in egg and milk and flour before the batter. I have made beer batter before and the batter sticks fine to the veggies without the flour and egg, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
best I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
SOOO GOOD!!! They are delicious! My kids gobble them up as soon as they are set on the table! They remind me of the late summertime fair! Even in the middle of winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
i made onion rings last night and they went over big this is one recipe i will use again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
The only vegetable I fried with the batter was onions, and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This recipe is a lot of work, but tastes great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Try this recipe once and you will NEVER try it again. What a nightmare! I followed the recipe to the "T" because I had 1)never used a beer batter and 2) I had never attempted to fry vegetables in this manner. It was a ridiculous mess. The batter came out too hard when finished, that is, the part of the batter that stayed on. It took nearly 1 1/2 hours to fry less than 2 lbs of vegetables. I will admit that the taste was not terrible once done but who wants to go through that much trouble for an appetizer or side dish? Really? I was so frustrated at the end that it could have tasted like ambrosia from the Heavens and I would not have appreciated it. I will definitely NOT be making this again. Sorry D.J., Two thumbs down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
First, this IS a little messy but not too bad. I did skip the milk/egg batter ~ just used the beer/flour mix and certainly did NOT let it sit for 3 hours first: half hour worked fine for me. I added some all season salt and a dash of lemon pepper seasoning to the beer batter and fried a variety of veggies (green peppers, onions, and zucchini). We enjoyed these alot! Although I normally don't fry my veggies (as it severly decreases the nutritional value of the vegetables) this was a nice change and I might do it again every once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States