Beer Battered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I've been looking for a recipe like this ... battered chicken tenders like you get at Chili's, not just the breadcrumb kind I had been making at home. And this is it as far as texture! This is good, but as other reviewers said, it definitely needs salt and other seasonings. I put probably a full teaspoon of Lawry's season salt in the flour, but it still wasn't enough. Next time I'll try some in the batter. I floured the chicken in a zip lock bag (easy!), and I had to add at LEAST another half cup, if not more, of liquid to the batter. (I added some water as well as more beer.) After that, it was much easier to cook. It was crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. However, a little hard to judge when the chicken is fully cooked. Thanks, Nathan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
it's easy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
It needs something to give it some kick. I haven't quite figured it out but I'm open to suggestions. Another suggested marinating the chicken. I love the idea of the beer battered concept, just needs some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Terrific batter! Made chicken this time but it's so good I'll try fish next time! Added just a splash of Old Bay to the dry ingredients. Real Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint James, Missouri, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Very bland. Didn't enjoy this recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I've only made this dish once and I followed instructions exactly the way it was posted. After spending so much time and trouble cooking it, I was not happy with the end result. It was no better than regular breaded chicken. I suggest to anyone who is planning on using this recipe to either marinate the chicken in herbs and adding spices to the batter. Otherwise you'll just end up as disappointed as I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This recipe was awesome--easy and delicious, especially after my 12-year-old decided to dump all the chicken pieces into the batter at once and coat them that way. I was doing them one at a time and laying the batter on a little thick. Crisp & yummy--will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Very good, but LOTS of work. try to avoid getting splattered with the hot oil cause it REALLY hurts. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I did not make any changes to the recipe. It was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I started using this recipe a few months ago but just now getting around to writing a review! :) I use this recipe at least once every two weeks to make sweet and sour chicken. It is excellent! (The sauce I use is Uncle Bill's Sweet and Sour Sauce from this website also)I have a deep fryer and it makes this very quick and simple to make. The chicken tastes really great with the sauce, but it also tastes great on its own. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States