Beer Battered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I liked it! I did add a lot of seasonings and I also added a little hot sauce to the batter like someone had suggested. I think the only thing that this recipe needs is a really good dipping sauce...i served it with sweet & sour sauce and ranch mixed with a little hot sauce. It was good but I think it needs a sauce that will bring out the flavor of the chicken and beer...But all in all I loved the recipe and so did my family!!! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
while the beer batter will taste like beer it will never be a beer batter per say depending on the type of beer. victoria bitter or any other cultivated yeast beer will give a greater beer flavour and instant batter but is not correct. coopers brand or sediment beer brewed using live yeasts will enhance the batter and give a much more unique flavour, althought this will take time to set, up to 3-4 hours in a cool dry place. but like we chefs say 'always sacrifice time for flavour'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I've been looking for a recipe like this ... battered chicken tenders like you get at Chili's, not just the breadcrumb kind I had been making at home. And this is it as far as texture! This is good, but as other reviewers said, it definitely needs salt and other seasonings. I put probably a full teaspoon of Lawry's season salt in the flour, but it still wasn't enough. Next time I'll try some in the batter. I floured the chicken in a zip lock bag (easy!), and I had to add at LEAST another half cup, if not more, of liquid to the batter. (I added some water as well as more beer.) After that, it was much easier to cook. It was crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. However, a little hard to judge when the chicken is fully cooked. Thanks, Nathan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
it's easy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
It needs something to give it some kick. I haven't quite figured it out but I'm open to suggestions. Another suggested marinating the chicken. I love the idea of the beer battered concept, just needs some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Terrific batter! Made chicken this time but it's so good I'll try fish next time! Added just a splash of Old Bay to the dry ingredients. Real Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint James, Missouri, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Very bland. Didn't enjoy this recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I've only made this dish once and I followed instructions exactly the way it was posted. After spending so much time and trouble cooking it, I was not happy with the end result. It was no better than regular breaded chicken. I suggest to anyone who is planning on using this recipe to either marinate the chicken in herbs and adding spices to the batter. Otherwise you'll just end up as disappointed as I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This recipe was awesome--easy and delicious, especially after my 12-year-old decided to dump all the chicken pieces into the batter at once and coat them that way. I was doing them one at a time and laying the batter on a little thick. Crisp & yummy--will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Very good, but LOTS of work. try to avoid getting splattered with the hot oil cause it REALLY hurts. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States