Beer Battered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
this was incredibly bland. I felt like I was making biscuits, not fried chicken. The batter with 1/2 cup beer was SO THICK that it ended up burning before cooking the chicken. After adding almost the whole bottle to make the batter somewhat usable, it still turned out bland and soggy. Not making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Real good. Used more beer though, batter was way too thick as per the recipe. Used a deep fryer to fry - 15 mins/basket. Definitely use it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I used Drakes batter instead of making my own. After I deep fried the chicken, I heated one stick of butter and two cups of Franks hot sauce then coated the chicken with it. I also made some in honey bar-b-que sauce. They are delicious and the whole family loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Didnt like this...Mine came out soggy, I must have done it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
not my favorite or my familys. it was very bland and not crispy at all. im sure it would be wonderdul for those who like bland tasting food or for those that cant eat anything with much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Dry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
although this sounds like it would be great it fell a little short for me.i am going to try this again with some tony's cajun seasoning mixed in. i found it to be just too bland and the batter was too mushy not crunchy at all. me being a southern girl i like big flavors and if its fried chicken of any kind i think it should be crunchy. i did try to thicken the batter with a little four but that didn't work well.i think this a great idea but definately not for pickey people like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
the base recipe is perfect. it makes perfect beer battered chicken, but i read that it was bland, so i always add seasonings that i like- to the chicken when in strips, to the flour to dip chicken in, as well as the batter for some kick- i add cayenne pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and some seasoning salt. I also add a bit more beer, maybe more like 2/3c than 1/2c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was just okay for me. Others liked it more than I did, so I gave it four stars instead of three. It really was bland, despite seasoning as soon as I removed it from the oil. If I make this again, I will season the chicken, the flour, and the batter. I did let the batter rest about 30 min. before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Really good. Received rave reviews from my parents. I added some salt, pepper, southwest chiptole seasoning and a tad bit of fresh orange juice to the batter. Would be great batter for fresh fish as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I ran out of batter and just fried the rest of my strips with nothing but the dredge on them... tasted better anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, Maine, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States