Beer Battered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I started using this recipe a few months ago but just now getting around to writing a review! :) I use this recipe at least once every two weeks to make sweet and sour chicken. It is excellent! (The sauce I use is Uncle Bill's Sweet and Sour Sauce from this website also)I have a deep fryer and it makes this very quick and simple to make. The chicken tastes really great with the sauce, but it also tastes great on its own. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
i've made this twise so far. the first time it was very blah and thick. the second time i used 1 cup of really dark beer. i let it set in the fridge for about an hour. it was a lot better this way. it worked really good for onion rings too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANARLENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atchison, Kansas, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This recipe is just too bland. Per previous reviewers, I added pretty much every seasoning I had and it's still missing something. Will check back to see if anyone comes up with the answer to add some pizzazz...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I really liked this recipe. I did not find it in any way bland. Probably because it doesn't take much to know if something is going to be too bland for your taste just by looking at the recipe. I used 1 cup of liquid, a few generous dashes of garlic powder, two dashes of tobasco, and voila...perfect. I also didn't find the cooking process messy because I us a small deep fryer for this sort of thing. I put the batter bowl right next to the fryer for no dripping. It was very easy clean up. Don't let the bland reviewers discourage you. Just add some of your fave seasonings, and the tobasco was a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Fantastic!! This is the first time I've tried this kind of recipe and it came out restaurant quality! I used more beer to thin the batter out a little, added some spices, and followed everything that SMPARSONS said on 1/13/05. Oh, I also only used 1 cup of oil instead of 3. I don't know if it made it any healthier, but at least I didn't use all that oil needlessly. Great, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
We weren't thrilled with this batter at all. I let the batter rest for about 40 minutes before using it and there was absolutely no flavour to it, even though I added additional spice (some cayenne, seasoning salt etc). I forgot to flour the chicken before dipping it in the batter, and it turned out just fine...none of the batter fell off. This dish was bland and boring, so I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I've used this recipe twice now..the first time I made it to the tee, and it was BLAH! The second time I made it, I followed everyones advice on putting season in the batter. I still thought it was BLAH. it does have good texture but tastes blah. I might have to stay with the good old Drakes mix from the store. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Recipe was very bland. And it was very messy! I usually don't fry so maybe I'm just partial but I really didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
This recipe tasted absolutely wonderful. It was a really nice way to do chicken since I eat it like 3 times a week. I did forget to cut the chicken into strips, and it still tasted wonderful. Definetly a winner. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Pretty quick and easy. Need to add LOTS of spice for the flavor to really come out. My daughter loved it and the breading wasn't very thick. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States