Beer Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Did the dredge in flour and then dip...it was SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynsey Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
It was very light in flavor. I added a dash of paprika and dill. I used the tip about dredging in flour first. I used this recipe because I didn't have the breading I normally use. I will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Savin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
With the addition of a little salt this is the best light crispy batter we have ever found. It was heavenly for our Canadian Walleye dinner tonight. My husband used Labatt Blue, a Canadian beer, in the batter and seasoning salt for more flavor. It was wonderful and will be our family favorite from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This batter is NOT recommended if you use a fryer. It stuck straight to the basket and never let go. It was good though... as I could testify from eating the little bits of batter that were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francois Tremblay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Love it! I added some other seasonings but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This worked great for fried cod. I added a teaspoon salt to the batter. Perfect with it, I really think it would have been bland without it. All I had in the house was a light beer which really didn't lend any beer taste to the batter, which was ok with me, even though we do enjoy the beer taste in the batter. So use a regular/stout beer if you enjoy the taste or a light beer if you prefer not to taste that. The batter seemed quite thin so I added a couple tablespoons more flour to thicken up just a tad. I suppose cutting back on beer would have worked as well. I followed others advice on dredging the fish in flour prior to dipping in the batter. Not sure if it made a difference or not but the batter stayed put on the fish and finished up with a nice golden coating when fried. This was a light, crispy batter even after sitting, and was not greasy in the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by wbruni
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Wonderful batter! I thickened to my likeness with flour and battered walleye fish, fresh green peppers and onion rings. Everything was super crispy and delish! Will make for every time we fry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Make sure the beer is warm and flat. Also I added 1/4 tsp of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Used this batter for fish and onion rings. I thought it looked bland so I kicked it up a notch. Doubled the amount of garlic powder, added some salt, cayenne pepper, and a dash of curry powder. This turned out perfect and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
The best I've come across!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dinsdancer
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States