Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This was my first attempt at homemade deep fried fish and after reading all the reviews I decided to modify the recipe. I made half a recipe, but used 2 eggs and regular all purpose flour, adding another 1/2 C beer, 2 more T cornstarch, 1 t garlic salt, 1 t Lawry's season salt. I blotted the fish dry and lightly salted the (bass) fish before coating. The extra batter was great for my vidalia sweet onion rings. I still only used about half of the batter. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It was a wonderful and easy recipe! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Wilkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I beleive that the beer used is the key to this so good.. I use Sockeye Red, India Pale Ale by Midnightsun Brewing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Don't change a thing. I was in my happy place while enjoying these with home made chips as well. Couldn't find pastry flour, so had to add a little more corn starch (about 1/2 tsp. per cup flour) to lower the protein in my AP flour. To those of you who are thinning down the recipe, be careful about adding more beer, you want to taste the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was my very first try at beer batter. I made the recipe exactly as listed, except I used all-purpose flour because I didn't have pastry flour. My batter got quite thick, so I had to end up using a little more beer and quite a bit more milk to thin it out. In the end, the batter fried up nicely and had a wonderful, light, crunchy texture to it. The only thing I would say is that this recipe makes a ton of batter. It says this serves 2-4 people with 1.5 pounds of cod, but I think this recipe, as written, would seriously feed like 8-12 people. I would recommend cutting the recipe in half if you're serving six or less people. I also had a problem with the batter sticking to the basket of my deep fryer at first. I learned that you only need a very thin coating of the batter on the fish fillets. Make sure you drip off any excess before frying. Once I did that, the fillets came out beautifully. Great recipe. I will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Negaunee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
a little batter goes along way & it puffs up a lot. i had to add more liquid than what the recipe called for because it was too stiff. it turned out great and tasty, thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Excellent!!! Just like the resturants. I did have to add more beer like other reviews, the batter was too thick. I also had alot of batter left over ,so I made onion rings with it. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chariot

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
great base! Season to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I have taken this recipe and tweeked it a bit, I added lemon pepper, dill weed, and some cajun seasoning to spice it up a bit. This recipe is a favorite for me and the other half, we make it just about every weekend.....better yet it costs less to have a homemade fish fry than it is to go out anymore for it!!! FYI I also add more beer to thin out the batter and even experimented with the remaining batter by finding other things at home to deep fry.....onion rings, and cheese curds are pretty good using the same batter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I had my doubts but love english style fish. Batter was way too thick. Whenever I saw the eggs in a batter, I should have known. It was cake like, I prefer a light crispy batter on my fish. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States