Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I beleive that the beer used is the key to this so good.. I use Sockeye Red, India Pale Ale by Midnightsun Brewing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Don't change a thing. I was in my happy place while enjoying these with home made chips as well. Couldn't find pastry flour, so had to add a little more corn starch (about 1/2 tsp. per cup flour) to lower the protein in my AP flour. To those of you who are thinning down the recipe, be careful about adding more beer, you want to taste the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleymarie856
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was my very first try at beer batter. I made the recipe exactly as listed, except I used all-purpose flour because I didn't have pastry flour. My batter got quite thick, so I had to end up using a little more beer and quite a bit more milk to thin it out. In the end, the batter fried up nicely and had a wonderful, light, crunchy texture to it. The only thing I would say is that this recipe makes a ton of batter. It says this serves 2-4 people with 1.5 pounds of cod, but I think this recipe, as written, would seriously feed like 8-12 people. I would recommend cutting the recipe in half if you're serving six or less people. I also had a problem with the batter sticking to the basket of my deep fryer at first. I learned that you only need a very thin coating of the batter on the fish fillets. Make sure you drip off any excess before frying. Once I did that, the fillets came out beautifully. Great recipe. I will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleymarie856

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Negaunee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
a little batter goes along way & it puffs up a lot. i had to add more liquid than what the recipe called for because it was too stiff. it turned out great and tasty, thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Excellent!!! Just like the resturants. I did have to add more beer like other reviews, the batter was too thick. I also had alot of batter left over ,so I made onion rings with it. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chariot

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
great base! Season to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I have taken this recipe and tweeked it a bit, I added lemon pepper, dill weed, and some cajun seasoning to spice it up a bit. This recipe is a favorite for me and the other half, we make it just about every weekend.....better yet it costs less to have a homemade fish fry than it is to go out anymore for it!!! FYI I also add more beer to thin out the batter and even experimented with the remaining batter by finding other things at home to deep fry.....onion rings, and cheese curds are pretty good using the same batter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I had my doubts but love english style fish. Batter was way too thick. Whenever I saw the eggs in a batter, I should have known. It was cake like, I prefer a light crispy batter on my fish. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great batter, did the full recipe for a few fish. Next day had grandkids to feed, didn't have any chicken fingers to cook up, so we did buzzard butts instead (chunks of chicken breast that was for stif fry). They really liked it, wanted more for breakfast the next day. Great recipe can be used for anything. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is exactly what my husband was asking for. It was delicious! I don't have a deep fryer so I used a large heavy frying pan with about an inch of oil. I heated the pan on medium high and turned the fish when the batter turned golden. Don't over crowd your fish in the pan or it will be hard to flip in the hot oil. I admit I fried potatoes in the oil first for the whole fish and chip experience. Also, I just used regular flour and added 2 tablespoons of beer to thin the batter a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States