Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
We modified this recipe slightly to make it gluten-free and then reviewed it on our gluten-free blog. It was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I couldn't believe this fish came out of my kitchen. It really tasted restaurant quality. I substituted part cake flour part AP since I didn't have pastry flour. I used corona beer since that was what I had on hand, but it would have been even better with a stronger flavored beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
excellent batter...added a touch of curry powder gave it a little zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I can't believe how easy this recipe is! Only thing I did diffrent was sub 1/2 cup of beer for the milk and it was amazing. 5 stars, I would give it 10 if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
We ended up removing the breading and just ate the fish; however, it was good on the onion rings. On the positive side, the batter fried up to a beautiful golden brown and did not soak up a lot of grease. Negative - the batter never crisped - as others have said, too bready or too soggy. If you're looking to make crispy batter-fried fish this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
great tasting battered fish...i used all purpose flour and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was great! I added a little Old Bay seasoning and some onion powder which give it just a bit more flavor. Next time will half the recipe cause I did have some left over and I also used it on shrimp at the same meal. Will try it on mushrooms next time! Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Great taste and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I had to scrape some of the batter off, as it was a little thick. But great texture and flavor. My kids devoured the fish! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
The recipe could easily be cut in half- I did 1.5 lbs (3 cod filets in 7 pieces ) and there was about half left over. I should have added some more beer as well since it turned out pretty thick (and messy to work with). A little bland but you could easily change that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Try this simple and crispy fish batter.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States