Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was great. I used buttermilk (as I needed to use it up) but may not do that next time as it got pretty fluffy. We did make a lot and had some to reheat, which surprisingly for reheated fish, it tasted quite good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used this on Rainbow Trout - (not the usual, I know) - and it worked GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Perfect as is. I added a bit of Old Bay only because I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is a bit of a tricky recipe to get right. I agree it needs to be thinned out a little. The trick is letting the coating drip off a little and to fry for the proper length of time. Personally I prefer a thicker batter so I really like this basic recipe. If you want more taste just add your favourite spices. A great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
it was very donut like with no crisp to it. on a positive note it didn't hold the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Pretty good. Took earlier advice and added more beer to 2 servings. Added tons of old Bay seasoning - probably 3 tbsp. wasn't overseasoned at all. Used a/p flour with xtra cornstarch. Cut up two mahi mahi fillets. Very tasty and still had batter left over. Cooked more like 6-7 minutes to get extra crispy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Loved this batter and as stated in the description it is a good basic recipe. I cut the recipe down to 2 servings as most reviews said it made a lot. We had three very large cod fillets and there was plenty of batter to do more. As written the mixture is way to thick, so additional beer was required to make it suitable to dip the fillets. I dredged the fish in flour before coating.The only other recommendation I have is more seasoning. It does lack flavor. Maybe some lemon pepper, dried dill weed, or cayenne for a zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
didn't have pastry flour and used AP and i'm not sure if that affected it that much but i was expecting a better taste....i agree with someone else who said it was more like donuts....??? might have to try it again but will add more seasoning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Dumont

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Perfect! The only advice I would pass along (at the risk of looking silly) would be to make sure not to place the battered fish directly into the basket of the fryer (if using that style) as it will bond with it! Just place directly into the oil with out the basket and use tongs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Ive tried several different batter recipes, and I keep coming back to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Try this simple and crispy fish batter.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States