Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Delicious! Next time I will cut the recipe in 1/2, I did end up with a lot more batter. Those of you that dont have a deep fryer, I used a pan with oil in it, be careful because the fish has a tenancy to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great recipe! My girlfriend made this for me last October w/ white fish and it tasted great! Makes a very crispy batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugeen Shores, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I will never make it again :( felt really bad i wasted 3 pounds of good fish in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjer peters

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
While the batter was flavorful, it was too thick for our taste. I was hoping for something frothier and light. This was more like an unsweetened pancake around fish. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Wonderful! But made way too much...I cut the recipie in 1/3 and it was plenty for 1 lb. of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I cut the recipe in half, and it was still a lot, so I put some veggies in the batter and fried them too. Even my little ones ate the veggies that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Batter was too thick..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Whoa fluffy batter! I'm in the habit of putting batter in the fridge to 1-let the gluten relax 2-to thicken the batter. I did this without prompting from the recipe and when I fried my first round of fish, the batter was waaaaay too fluffy, so much so, the fish did not cook so well. The next round went more smoothly as I used my fingers to remove the excess batter. This made it just about perfect. Also, this makes enough batter to fry for an army. We're only 4. Next time, I'll cut the recipe in half and reduce the amount of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I halved this recipe, and was able to coat 2 pieces of Talapia, and all of the onion rings from a large sweet onion. I was expecting a crispier batter, but perhaps if I had deep-fried them longer, I would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I am always trying to find new recipes for fish. I used this batter on both Alaska Halibut and Alaska Cod! Everyone loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknalaska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States