Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Perfect batter! I didn't use pastry flour and used the same amount of cornstarch it called for. A little thick, but turned out wonderful! Two thumbs up from my husband and me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieJo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was good but should be eaten right away!.. My deep fryer is small so I had to make them one at a time. Then I used up the leftover batter to fry up onion rings. When we ate dinner the bottoms of the fish had begun to get soggy. Also don't forget to season your fish with salt and pepper before dipping them. My fish was bland. I added a pinch of cayenne in my batter and a pinch of sugar. I served with lemons & tartar sauce; my sides werecoleslaw, onion rings and French fries...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
real easy and purtty good all that needs to be said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Really great recipe. I halved it, and added 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, used a dark beer. It was really great! Silly me, I tried using the basket of my deep fryer and the first batch of fish was ruined, totally stuck to the bottom of the basket. Afterward I just dropped it in the fat without the basket and when it was it looked just like it came from a restaurant! Only it tasted even better!!!! I have lots to learn about deep frying, obviously! Thanks for the great recipe we won't use another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Not what I expected batter was too thick and too much leftover..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I just made this for my family of 6, (fried 6 big pieces of tilapia.) I cut the recipe in half like others suggested. It was exactly the batter I was looking for. Our familly likes spice so I added extra garlic and bay seasoning. Sooooo yummy!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I was out of cornstarch so added a bit more baking soda, no pastry flour, used all purpose. This was impressive! Not greasy, excellent taste. I used it for onion rings and I would have thought I was getting them in a greasy spoon, less the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DT's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was incredible!,, We LOVED it ...I love fish and chips and this is better than the any I,ve ever bought. I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. I made cold start French fries ..from Cook,s Illustrated. Fantastic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Delicious! Next time I will cut the recipe in 1/2, I did end up with a lot more batter. Those of you that dont have a deep fryer, I used a pan with oil in it, be careful because the fish has a tenancy to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States