Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Puffed up a lot. Really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Mine came out so thick and the batter did not cook fully thru even thought the fish was cooked and they were golden brown. It was my first time doing fried fish, wish I knew what I did wrong!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Perfect batter! I didn't use pastry flour and used the same amount of cornstarch it called for. A little thick, but turned out wonderful! Two thumbs up from my husband and me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieJo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was good but should be eaten right away!.. My deep fryer is small so I had to make them one at a time. Then I used up the leftover batter to fry up onion rings. When we ate dinner the bottoms of the fish had begun to get soggy. Also don't forget to season your fish with salt and pepper before dipping them. My fish was bland. I added a pinch of cayenne in my batter and a pinch of sugar. I served with lemons & tartar sauce; my sides werecoleslaw, onion rings and French fries...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
real easy and purtty good all that needs to be said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Really great recipe. I halved it, and added 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, used a dark beer. It was really great! Silly me, I tried using the basket of my deep fryer and the first batch of fish was ruined, totally stuck to the bottom of the basket. Afterward I just dropped it in the fat without the basket and when it was it looked just like it came from a restaurant! Only it tasted even better!!!! I have lots to learn about deep frying, obviously! Thanks for the great recipe we won't use another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Not what I expected batter was too thick and too much leftover..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I just made this for my family of 6, (fried 6 big pieces of tilapia.) I cut the recipe in half like others suggested. It was exactly the batter I was looking for. Our familly likes spice so I added extra garlic and bay seasoning. Sooooo yummy!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I was out of cornstarch so added a bit more baking soda, no pastry flour, used all purpose. This was impressive! Not greasy, excellent taste. I used it for onion rings and I would have thought I was getting them in a greasy spoon, less the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DT's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Try this simple and crispy fish batter.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States