Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This was pretty good. I made it for cod and onion rings. I used a dark beer, as that's what I had on hand. After cooking, the fried batter gets soft pretty quickly and is sort of "cake-like." It's good, but I like the light, airy, golden crisp type of beer batter best. The onion rings were for my husband he liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Regan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Excellent, delicious! I scaled down the recipe to 2 servings and I had enough to coat onion rings too. I thinned it down with more beer as I was using it and also added some Old Bay. My husband said it was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I had to make this with a 'near beer' as that was all that I had. Tomorrow I will try it again with a real one and I will also add a little seasoning salt. I enjoyed it tonight although I didn't use fish, I used mushrooms, zucchini and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
yum we all loved the batter when great with the huge fathead my son caught thanks Wilma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
this is a perfect batter recipe- I also didn't have pastry flour so I used regular flour and did as someone else suggested by increasing the corstarch a bit... it turned out fine... I have a deep fryer and learned after the first two fish pieces not to use the basket because the batter stuck to it so I simply dropped it in the oil... anyway... I actually cut this recipe in 1/3 and it still turned out fine- I was really the only one eating fish so... but then I used it for onion rings too and it works GREAT! I found I liked the fish with the batter a little lighter and the onion rings with the batter darker/longer. Anyway great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Well..I have tried many recipes from this site, most are great, but this was exceptional! A very light, puffy batter. I added Old Bay seasoning to the flour and put quite a bit of salt in batter after mixed. A word of warning..be careful if you like malt vinegar on your fish. It makes the batter rather soggy, so stay with the tarter sauce. Also great for onion rings..best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This recipe is awesome! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
great batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Wonderul!!!! I just added a little Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States