Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
The crust came out delicate and almost greaseless, which is nice since I am not a big fan of deep fried items. However my sweetie is, which is what provoked me to try this recipe. The only thing that didn't work. . . I ran out fish before I ran out of batter. However, I sliced up an onion and had onion rings. Fabulous! I couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Good start. Used heavy dark beer and about half the baking powder so not so puffy. Also cut recipe in 1/2 for 1+ pound of Talapia with plenty left over. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This recipe is great. Very good for onion rings. Note: if you drain the rings on their side instead of laying them down, they will stay crisper longer. I also tried the batter on large cur potatoes, a little spicy and excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
great everyone loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Sorry, but we all thought this was horrible. This batter is very cakey, comes out crisp on the outside as soon as you take the fish out of the fryer, but turns soft within minutes. Puffs up so much, you can't hardly find the fish inside. What a waste of good fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Very good... made with halibut and it was yummy. If you want flavor, add more garlic powder and lots of Old Bay Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I hate giving bad reviews, but my husband and I didn't like this recipe. It didn't seem to matter how long we fried this fish, the batter was still soggy. We ended up throwing 5 pieces of fish away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRYCE768

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
The fish was so-so, the onion rings were better. This recipe needs more salt, and seasonings. It also wasn't as crispy as I would have liked. I'll probably stick to the beer-battered fish at my favorite restaraunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This was pretty good. I made it for cod and onion rings. I used a dark beer, as that's what I had on hand. After cooking, the fried batter gets soft pretty quickly and is sort of "cake-like." It's good, but I like the light, airy, golden crisp type of beer batter best. The onion rings were for my husband he liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States