Beer Batter Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made these last night using Shiner Ruby Redbird, which is a grapefruit and ginger beer from here in Texas, and they've definitely become my go to insert-beverage-here waffles. Using a brand new waffle maker of unexplored abilities, the outsides were nice and crisp and the insides were soft and fluffy. I got ten 4 x 4 Belgian style waffles using slightly more than 1/4 cup per waffle. Textures inside and out were perfect - this is without beating the egg whites, and halving the butter. I think anything Belgian/white/wheat/lighter/not things college kids drink would be tasty in this waffle. You could definitely smell the beer as they were cooking, and the flavor came through a bit, but not so much as to be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I also followed the recipe and was disappointed when I couldn't get them to cook all the way through on my waffle iron. They were limp and soggy. I ended up taking the leftover batter and making crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Absolutely the best waffle recipe that I have ever found. Every other recipe either in the box or hand made tastes like you are eating a pancake. These have great flavor and have a crisp sweet outer shell. Two thumbs way up on this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These were not good, they were not crispy at all, the batter was thin. I used Heinekin light beer and I'm guessing that's what gave them a bad flavor. Waste of ingredients. Will not make again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I hate to rate this so low, it gets a star because they were edible and another star because of the ease of the recipe, but these were not at all crispy even after putting them directly on the oven rack, nothing would toast or crisp these up. They also had a weird taste, I think it was a remnant of the beer, my dd said they tasted like bananas. Overall not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great on a snowy day!! Used regular flour with 1 Tbl baking powder and 1 tsp salt, used canola oil rather than butter. Light, crisp edges, and very tastie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Deliciously flavorable! Agreed that these aren't so crunchy, but I'll work on that. Only change I made was to add a teaspoon of cinnamon. I used Straub Beer, a small brewery in St. Mary's, PA, which uses natural ingredients and no preservatives. It is a lightish beer. I didn't have any syrup on hand, so I decided to work with what I had on hand that one collects to be creative with--now was the time. I heated some peach-rhubarb jam in the microwave and threw some pomegranate seeds on top. Fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Economy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Did not like these at all. The batter was easy to make, but was very thin and needed to use almost 1 1/2 cups of batter in my waffle iron (busquick batter only uses 1/4 cup). I used Labatt Blue Light beer and the waffles came out very bitter and tasteless despite adding an additional tablespoon of honey to the batter. I could not get the waffles to crisp at all. I had higher hopes for this recipe, but sadly I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikkehla

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakfield, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
THE BEST!!! I've been looking for the perfect waffle recipe for a long time - crispy on the outside & light and fluffy in the inside. I've tried a LOT of recipes and this was IT!! Love it. I subbed in AP flour with baking powder and salt for the self-rising. Turned out so well. Thank you so so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States