Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
absolute decadence! the batter was like fine gold! i had to keep adding more beer to the batter- i guess it couldn't handle our Canadian brew EH? this recipe will be a keeper when in the mood for artery clogging food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This is the BEST beer-batter recipe we have ever used. EVERYTHING tastes so GREAT...crispy nad light. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Ok, maybe my onions were too big?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
Delicious! I would make it again. It is light and crispy, and addictive...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Excellent batter! I added a ton more beer to make it thinner. Made this for a fish fry and received a ton of compliments. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENBOSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This is the best batter for onion rings, eggplant, mushrooms, zucchini, squash, etc. I've tried many over the years and my husband likes this one best. Just keep adding beer until it is pourable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe didn't have alot of reviews but the ones it did have were great. I agree this is the best onion ring recipe I have ever tried or ever eaten for that matter.My husband said keep cooking these are great. My neighbor was over, she sliced a large onion and made a plateful for her and her husband, they loved them too. This recipe is definitely a keeper for 2 families now. No more searching, this is perfect, mouth watering and delicious!! Thanks LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Best. Onion Rings. Ever. LOVED EM! Thank you for this easy delicious recipe! I had to add more beer like the others but boy was it worth it. I'm embarrassed to admit that I didn't have enough onion so I dunked a turkey sandwich in the batter and deep fried it like a Bennigans Monte Cristo. And it was soooooo good. I think I've fulfilled my fried food quota for the next six months after what I ate today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeWench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Boy, I sure hope that not everyone's turns out this bad!! First of all I was trying to coat cheese cubes. Well, it didnt work! The batter tasted bland to begin with and second it didnt stick to them. The "batter" looked more like taffy. I followed the directions exactly, but something HAD to be wrong... KEEP LOOKING for a different recipe! It just tastes bland and makes a mess and wastes a perfectly good beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This is the best batter I've ever made. It was a bit of work but well worth it. The onion rings came out so light and crispy. But I had so much batter left. I think the next time I'll only make a half recipe because there is only my husband and I. Wonder if this batter can be frozen? I doubt it though, seems like it would turn watery when thawed. Anyone ever tried to freeze the remaining batter? Thanks LaDonna for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States