Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Not too bad! Very tasty, but needed salt and pepper, and maybe an extra spice to your liking--Old Bay, Emeril's Essance, garlic salt, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandsurfsun85

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I tried this recipe last night. This is a great recipe. I definitely plan to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I loved the lightness and crispiness of this batter. It was exactly what I was looking for. I just used the batter recipe to fry something else, not onion rings, but I followed the recipe for the batter. I would have given it 5 stars, but reading the recipe I saw there was little seasoning, so I used the seasoning ratios from another batter from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Not light, crispy or addictive. More like a waste of onion and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SecretFatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by C IS FOR COOKIE
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I did these on the stove, in about an inch of heated oil (I used a candy thermometer to get the oil to the right temp). One cup of beer worked great, & my mom asked "where'd you get these?!" :) I sprinkled salt on them as they cooled on the paper towels. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C IS FOR COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
mmmmmmm these were soooo gooood. great flavor i had to adjust the width of my onion rings i was making them to thin at first but about 1/2 inch worked pretty darn good tytyty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lussier25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
GREAT!! Works wonderfully with mushrooms as well. Probably would work with anything you wanted to batter. I made myself a little short cut and it was still the best batter I have used. I skipped the step of rolling the onions in the plain flour, went straight to the batter and it was THE BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OKIECOOK1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great base batter. Added a bit more seasoning then called for. I was frustrated with handling the rings, and then had the brilliant idea to slice the last onion in wedges. The onion "petals" handled very nicely, held up better in the oil and were great for scooping up dipping sauce. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA
Living In: Beverly, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I doubled the beer (one bottle). My family snarfed them down! My 9 year old said "Now you have something to brag about" after eating them! We dipped them in blue cheese dressing...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This recipe was great! I use it for vegetables and it's also great for fish!!! My neighbors raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States