Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
i did not care for this recipe and would have given it a 3 but my brother liked it and thought it should get a four. it needed a lot more beer than called for and a lot more seasoning as it was very bland. we added garlic powder, salt, pepper, chilli powder, and paprika. we also battered some sweet potato which was quite tasty and different. overall, the recipe needed so many changes that i will prob try a different one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
i was very displeased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I've never cooked onion rings before, but by the time I tasted the first one, I could tell this was a recipe to keep! I also wound up adding extra beer as the batter was too thick, but it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I was looking for a great batter recipe. I tried this and I love it. I did add some pepper and garlic salt just cause I put it in everything I cook. I used this recipe for mushrooms too and it was fantastic. Easy to make and cheap no more going to a restraunt and paying 7.95 for an appitezer of shrooms. For my onion rings I did the same and seasoned them with Andy's seasoning salt after they were cooked and served with a side of HOMEADE ranch dressing.......diffenitly going to be a regular in our home and for the superbowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Servin1
Home Town: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These were very bland and like everyone else said you really need to add more beer..I wish I read the reviews first then I could have made some adjustments..I do plan to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamabella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This batter worked great! I used a specialty beer from Rogue breweries. Be sure you use a beer that would taste good on its own and like others have stated you need more beer than called for. You also need to add spices for some flavor, I used salt, pepper, garlic powder, cumin, and cayenne pepper. Although they would be pretty bland done as written, I still give this recipe 4 stars because the batter worked so well. They are crispy, light and stuck together well. Definitely try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This recipes has some good ideas. Beating the egg whites first, then adding to the batter is a great way to lighten up the batter. The batter needs seasoning. I had to add salt, pepper, garlic powder just to get any kind of flavor. I also had to add 3x more beer to get the right consistence. I sliced one onion 5/8 inches thick and was enough for 4 people to eat as a side dish. This recipes has to many flaws in it to be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
very good recipe! just didnt really have to dip the onions in flour. the batter stuck very well with out it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Hubby and kiddos loved them! Did have to give 4 stars as I had to use about 1 1/2 bottles of beer for the batter to get the pancake consistency everyone talked about in reviews. Also added quite a bit of seasoning salt, some garlic salt, and some paprika. (Only added the extra seasoning after making a few, and hubby tasting them and saying they needed the seasoning.) Would've given 5 stars if it weren't for this. Really easy to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
YUM!!! Used Straberry onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States