Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
These onion rings were quite delish!! Even used the same batter for some fried pickles. They were some of the best pickles we ever had. As the other reviews stated the batter definitely needed more beer than 1 cup. I used a whole 12oz can and a smidge more. perfect! Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Hey I will be the first to admit I simply just put the flour, eggs and beer together with a pinch of salt, waited the 30-mins and started dunking the onions into the pancake like batter. What came out is the best onion rings I've ever enjoyed and not just because I made them... but because this recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Compton Cypress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I tried these tonight for dinner. I wish I had a picture but we ate them all! They turned out great, I was a little skeptical during the process and I did add extra beer so as other have said so I thought I would describe what it looks like. After mixing the first set of ingredient I wound up with a very thick substance that looked an awful lot like bread that hadn't risen. So after an hour, I added the other 4 ounces of beer, still a little thick, but I pressed on and added the egg whites. Shazam! Thick pancake batter, then I knew I was on the right track, and things hand't gone terribly wrong. I'm too clumsy to accomplish the flour->batter->oil process alone so I had a helper and we made great time. I would completely recommend these even to the beer-batter novice (which I am)! Be careful of the temperature of the oil, which as all things frying, lowers over time, in order to make sure it's not too hot or too cool so you get the lightweight fry but cooked onions. We even cut up cauliflower for the rest of the batter and they were divine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This recipe worked well but wasn't very "wet", kept having to loosen it up with more beer. as far as "to taste" I found that about 1 tablespoon of salt did really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
we tried this onion ring batter not expecting much but oh my goodness this is supper awesome I did have to use a whole bottle of beer to thin the batter but will making this from now on for onion and mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
After reading the reviews we initially tried dredging the onions through corn meal laced with Cajun pepper and salt. Finding that the results came out like donuts. We then thinned the batter with additional beer (again as other reviewers had suggested}. Finally we gave up dredging and went to just the batter which we had already doctored up with Cajun and Salt in addition to the beer. By now we were so full and bloated with the samples we were just OVER IT LOL!! Off to the trash it went!! On to the next recipe..next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa
Home Town: Fontana, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
batter wouldn't stick to the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Wonderful beer batter! I've used it for onion rings and white fish. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
My sons favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States