Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Excellent batter! I added a ton more beer to make it thinner. Made this for a fish fry and received a ton of compliments. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENBOSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
Delicious! I would make it again. It is light and crispy, and addictive...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is fabulous, just the recipe I was looking for! I did end up using more beer than called for, like others, but I usually use the liquid called for as a guide, adjusting more or less as necessary. I thought this recipe was perfect just as is. I didn't change the seasonings at all. I froze most of the recipe, reheating them on a heat-safe cake rack in the oven. Not as good as freshly made, but still very yummy without all the mess. This recipe is terrific, and works great for just about any vegetable. You MUST try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Oh my goodness, these were so good! Will have to be a special treat though, because they are a lot of work. Also, I had to nearly double the beer but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Best. Onion Rings. Ever. LOVED EM! Thank you for this easy delicious recipe! I had to add more beer like the others but boy was it worth it. I'm embarrassed to admit that I didn't have enough onion so I dunked a turkey sandwich in the batter and deep fried it like a Bennigans Monte Cristo. And it was soooooo good. I think I've fulfilled my fried food quota for the next six months after what I ate today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeWench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe didn't have alot of reviews but the ones it did have were great. I agree this is the best onion ring recipe I have ever tried or ever eaten for that matter.My husband said keep cooking these are great. My neighbor was over, she sliced a large onion and made a plateful for her and her husband, they loved them too. This recipe is definitely a keeper for 2 families now. No more searching, this is perfect, mouth watering and delicious!! Thanks LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
My husband and I both thought this batter was extremely good! It has a very good taste. It was quite messy though! The only problem I had while deep frying these were a couple of them stuck to my basket and burnt. So when I made my second batch I made sure I kept shaking the basket now and then and used a utensil to sir them a little. All in all, this is a great recipe for a delicious batter I am sure I will use time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This is the best batter I've ever made. It was a bit of work but well worth it. The onion rings came out so light and crispy. But I had so much batter left. I think the next time I'll only make a half recipe because there is only my husband and I. Wonder if this batter can be frozen? I doubt it though, seems like it would turn watery when thawed. Anyone ever tried to freeze the remaining batter? Thanks LaDonna for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This is the best batter for onion rings, eggplant, mushrooms, zucchini, squash, etc. I've tried many over the years and my husband likes this one best. Just keep adding beer until it is pourable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Very good, even though I did not do the egg white part. I will next time to see the difference. I just mixed the eggs with the beer, added salt and paprika then the flour. I did not used the butter either. Deep fried them and they were great. I also used more beer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States