Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Wonderful. Light, and fluffy. It is a keeper. My only suggestion would be to alter the recipe so that the flour used for dregging is listed 1st, then the rest for the batter. For a new cook, it could be confusing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Cherry Valley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I have to admit, I was afraid to make these...I hadn't deep-fried anything before, but these turned out fabulous! Easy easy easy to make. I did use about twice the amount of beer than called for. I used Heineken but I think the next time, I will use Nut Brown Ale, as the beer flavor didn't come through very strong. No leftovers, it all went fast and now they are having me make more this week! **Update** I made them again with Newcastle Nut Brown Ale and you could taste the beer more, it had a deeper flavor. I will make them with the Nut Brown Ale from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I feel bad for giving such a bad rating but I have to agree with the review ihopethatsnotacricket. The batter was very thick, didn't stick, and had no flavor. They tasted like onions coated in plain flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
My husband and I both thought this batter was extremely good! It has a very good taste. It was quite messy though! The only problem I had while deep frying these were a couple of them stuck to my basket and burnt. So when I made my second batch I made sure I kept shaking the basket now and then and used a utensil to sir them a little. All in all, this is a great recipe for a delicious batter I am sure I will use time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Very good, even though I did not do the egg white part. I will next time to see the difference. I just mixed the eggs with the beer, added salt and paprika then the flour. I did not used the butter either. Deep fried them and they were great. I also used more beer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is fabulous, just the recipe I was looking for! I did end up using more beer than called for, like others, but I usually use the liquid called for as a guide, adjusting more or less as necessary. I thought this recipe was perfect just as is. I didn't change the seasonings at all. I froze most of the recipe, reheating them on a heat-safe cake rack in the oven. Not as good as freshly made, but still very yummy without all the mess. This recipe is terrific, and works great for just about any vegetable. You MUST try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Oh my goodness, these were so good! Will have to be a special treat though, because they are a lot of work. Also, I had to nearly double the beer but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This is the best batter I've ever made. It was a bit of work but well worth it. The onion rings came out so light and crispy. But I had so much batter left. I think the next time I'll only make a half recipe because there is only my husband and I. Wonder if this batter can be frozen? I doubt it though, seems like it would turn watery when thawed. Anyone ever tried to freeze the remaining batter? Thanks LaDonna for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Boy, I sure hope that not everyone's turns out this bad!! First of all I was trying to coat cheese cubes. Well, it didnt work! The batter tasted bland to begin with and second it didnt stick to them. The "batter" looked more like taffy. I followed the directions exactly, but something HAD to be wrong... KEEP LOOKING for a different recipe! It just tastes bland and makes a mess and wastes a perfectly good beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Best. Onion Rings. Ever. LOVED EM! Thank you for this easy delicious recipe! I had to add more beer like the others but boy was it worth it. I'm embarrassed to admit that I didn't have enough onion so I dunked a turkey sandwich in the batter and deep fried it like a Bennigans Monte Cristo. And it was soooooo good. I think I've fulfilled my fried food quota for the next six months after what I ate today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeWench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States