Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
If you use the beer and flour only suggestion (which makes a great batter), be sure to season the fish heavily. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My family simply loved it, I did change the garlic powder for grated garlic, but still turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daduke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Just tried this recipe today and followed all the instructions, exactly. It was wonderful! I didn't use the suggestion to coat the fish with flour, first and the batter still stuck like glue to the fish. I didn't notice that it was overly salty, either, but maybe that's because I used a 'scant' two teaspoons of salt. I instinctively knew that was a lot of salt so I was conservative with it, while still adhering to the recipe. Great batter. Will also try on onion rings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I have used cod several times with this recipe and it is delicious. Sometimes I have trouble with the batter sticking so you definitely need to dip the fish in flour or something first before the batter, but the batter is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
batter did not stick well to fish. Bubbled alot when I added to oil. Don't think other batters have done that for me. I'll keep searching!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Delicious and simple to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Good basic beer batter recipe. ALWAYS remember to lightly flour your fish fillet before dipping into batter, or the batter won't stick. Same thing goes for battering chicken, onion rings or veggies (we LOVE beer-battered mushrooms!). For the batter, I used 1 tbs paking powder to 2 c flour, 1 egg, kosher salt, black pepper and a dash of cayenne and added enough beer to make a thick batter (similar to pancake batter consistency). I used a bottle of Stella Artois, because that's what I usually have in the fridge, but have used Newcastle and Bass. For the flour dredge, I used a cup of flour seasoned with kosher salt, black pepper, garlic and onion powders and paprika. Using a fork to dip the fish into the batter REALLY helps to ensure an even coating. Remember to make sure your oil is hot enough before placing fish into the pan - I set my deep-sided electric skillet to 375, and it was perfect. As with fried chicken, drain the fried fish on brown paper bages. It keeps them crispy and really absorbs excess oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of dredging the fish in some seasoned flour before I dipped it in the batter so it would stick better. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
used a 16oz can of Murphy's Stout...best fish I've had in years!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
The batter fell of, and it was a BIG mess! I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Bakaitis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States