Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Watch the video on this recipe before trying it. I read the reviews (about too much salt, etc.) In the video she uses 1 tsp. of salt not 2. She also floured the fish before putting it in the batter. I found the batter too runny and probably should have gradually added it until the "right consistency" for my taste. I used most of the bottle of beer (about 10 oz)..then had to add flour for some substance. The flavor was great, the paprika adds a nice color as well as a kick and a recipe that I would use again (as corrected). I used it with haddock. I was disappointed with a "sogginess" aspect ..I used a deep fryer and used the manufacturers recommendations and am second guessing the temperatures of the oil (as well as setting the fish on paper) and not on a rack in the oven (200-250') as I usually do). I like the star ratings but have found many people give high stars to recipes that have to be altered, changed or added to. I find it tedious to have to read all the reviews before I get the recipe that works. Thank you Linda for submitting this recipe. I think that after a day of fishing, fresh caught fish would be glorious on the deck and perhaps the whole beer shouldn't make it into the batter but elsewhere where it could be put to good use. Cheers! & thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
As another reviewer suggested: Used 1 part beer to 1 part flour (with a little extra beer) and spices (dill, garlic, etc.). let sit covered with tea cloth for 1-3 hours. dredged fish in flour before dipping in batter. soo crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Having been on my own and cooking for myself for the last ten or so years, I don't consider myself to still be a rookie cook. However, deep frying is something new. I fixed this without changes. The three stars is an overall average because... the taste was easily five star, however there was a heavy after taste of oil which I gave as three stars... the cleanup afterwards was a minus two stars. Do not put the fish in the deep fryer basket as I did. The batter stuck the fish to the bottom of the basket and and the fish was submerged in the oil so there was no need to turn the fish but when I tried to remove the fish from the basket it was stuck like glue. The batter was stuck solid to the basket and when I tried to remove the fish, the batter pealed off and was looked like it had become a permanent part of the basket. I spent almost an hour soaking and trying to remove the batter. So... do not use the basket to cook the fish. Just drop the fish into the oil and forget about the basket....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by HechePipe
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Great recipe, but I used Michelob Ultra. If I could do it again, I would use a malty beer like Sam Adams Boston Lager or maybe a stout like Guinness. Would make again. 5/5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Made this tonight, and my whole family loved it. Only modification suggestion is coat the fish with a light dusting of egg then flour before immersing in the batter for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Soggy and that paprika is overwhelming. After two bites, we all just peeled off the batter and salvaged the fish. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Fixed this for dinner tonight~ a half a recipe~ I used it on cod fillets and on onion rings it was awesome.. My hubby even said it is better than any we have had out... this will be used again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Made this twice already and it's great with the cream dory fillets I buy here in the Philippines. I like the consistency of the batter but I wish I could add just a little something to make it a tad tastier. Maybe a side dish could bring more flavor out or seasoning it for a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is a great batter! Had some fresh fish and wanted a good batter for fish tacos and I found this. Use a good beer, no lite. Use more or less of any of these spices, it depends on what you like. You do need to pat dry or batter will not stick. Do not over cook your fish. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
first I not a great fan of spice so if you're like me reduce the garlic and paprika to 2 teaspoons then ad some vinegar an baking powder or better some baking soda. the vinegar and soda make a crisper batter when fried (learned that from a successful fish and chip wagon hey,the UK know what there talking about) they where so good that my best friend said they where better then the fish and chips she had ever had. better then the ones her family would travel 10 hours there and back from Toronto just for those fish and chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BloomofSparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States