Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This is an excellent batter. I used halibut and found the batter light and crispy. I did however cut the salt in half when I made it. I would agree with the other reviews that it does not need this much salt and was glad I cut in half. It was just right with 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I made it today! I didn't used salt, I used Old Bay and not on purpose I only used 1/2 cup of flour and not the whole beer as it looked too watery, I also didn't 'lightly coat with flour' therefore the mix didn't stick?? however the fish tasted very good. I'll try it again following the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I didn't change anything and found it to be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
perfectly delicious! followed recipe exact and the cod fillets were the best I've ever made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Not very good soggy and batter to thin to make it nice and bready. Needs more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This was a great batter recipe! I used it for Haddock & the fish came out nice & crispy! We really enjoyed it! I did flour the fish before putting in the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I made this recipe last night and it was WONDERFUL! Very flavorful. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrks kitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
The batter itself was awesome, not too thick and it was very crispy. I would adjust the seasoning however, I would double up on all the seasoning and I had substituted chili powder instead of paprika. I used the left over to make onion rings which were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrks kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Recipe is fantastic, son is chef, he suggested cut garlic to 1/2 t, add 2 t of baking powder to dry ingredients. Coat fish with corn starch before dipping fish into batter. Fish was perfectly crisp. Made my tarter sauce. A must keep recipe. Thank you, Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Used this recipe tonight for dinner. Didn't have any cod, so started with 2 tilapia filets, and then raw 5 jumbo shrimp finally followed by onion rings from one one medium onion. Still had about 1/4 cup of batter left-over. Since the tilapia coating came out a little think after cooking, thinned it out before cooking the shrimp -- this perfect (used the entire 12 oz bottle of SA Boston Lager). The onion rings didn't hold the batter as well as the tilapia and the shrimp. Next time will start with the slightly thicker batter for the onion rings, then thin it out for the rest. Everything was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States