Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe worked well only if you made sure fish was patted dry and dredged thru a little mixture of flour, salt and pepper prior to dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I was a little disappointed in this recipe, but my husband liked it. First of all, I used a lite pale ale beer and all of the spices it called for (although I only used a dash of paprika). It came out really bland. On a positive note, the batter stuck really well to the cod, because I floured them before frying. I also fried it in canola oil, which I read was healthier than vegetable oil. I will make this again, but with a darker, better quality beer, and will only use salt and pepper (while omitting the garlic salt and paprika).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
We followed the recipe exactly and we used Guinness Extra Stout and it was absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I (pretty much) took the advice of PrettyMissusR and let the Flour/Spices mixed with the beer (I didn't measure, I kind of "eyeballed" it) sit for a couple of hours,then I mixed in an egg and let it sit around another hour. It was the lightest,best batter that I have ever made or eaten! Neighbors came over at couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I used equal parts beer& flour, cut the salt and added old bay to my batter...I was told it was restaurant quality!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was great. The dh loved it and that's saying a lot since he is not a huge fish fan. Followed the recipe execpt for cuting down the salt to 1 tsp and the paperika to 1tbsp and adding one tbsp of old bay seasoning. I also choose to use boston original lager. Worked great. It didn't give off a huge beer taste which I enjoyed. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Made the recipe as stated and was great! Probably 1/2 a recipe is adequate for family of 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I'm sorry to be the downer here... but all we could taste was the garlic powder. The base recipe is decent but the garlic powder is so incredibly over powering, we could not get past it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was very good. Easy to make and pretty puffy coating. So tasty! You can use any kind of white fish. I used pollock and it turned out beautifully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Very good. I took the other reviewers suggestions to heart and substituted Old Bay for the salt and halved the amount and it came out perfect. The directions say to salt and pepper the fish and then add salt and pepper to the batter, that's way to much seasoning and overwhelms the fish flavor. Just season the batter and even then cut back some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States