Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I've tried a lot of battered fish recipes and this one turned out the best. I found cutting the fish to smaller pieces works best and dredge in flour before dipping in the batter. Batter sticks to the fish better that way. Definitely will make again - the search for the perfect fried fish is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Yum - this was delicious. I followed other reviewers and dipped the fish first in flour and then in the batter, and it stuck beautifully. I had some batter left and used it for onion rings. They were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I read the reviews before I made this...I seen a number of reviews that thought it was too salty. Well...I don't know if this made a difference or not but I followed the advice of one of the reviews that said to let the batter once mixed sit for 3 hours. My family didn't think it was salty at all in fact...I said the next time I make it I will probably season a little more. Used the remaining batter for onion rings...what a light, quick and delicious meal. Also...thanks for the tip on dredging the fish in flour before frying...did that with the onion rings as well and didn't lose any batter on any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I tried the batter the way that PrettyMissusR suggested. and these were awesome! my husband loves fish and chips but i have never tried to make it at home. this was easy and delicious! I made onion rings out of the rest of the batter, which were just as yummy! thanks for posting this recipe and the added suggestions all : Two thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Excellent overall recipe. I questioned the huge amount of salt and pepper and garlic powder in it so I halved it. It was fine for me. Just make sure the oil is HOT or you will have soggy battered fish. Definitely roll the fish fillets in flour first or the batter just slides off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Salt and pepper to taste plus 2 teaspoons of salt? Less salt please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Delicious! I make this every other week! Torn between this and another beer batter fish recipe on here; they are both tasty. I actually like this one better because I can omit the milk, add more spice and more beer. Simply delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissMorticia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I LOVED this recipe! We used fresh skinned bone-in trout and fried the whole thing. Also, we substituted ground red pepper (1 & 1/2 tsp) for the paprika. So amazing! Love the spice! Better than any fried fish I've paid for in a restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Using the flour coating first seemed to give me great results. I did forget to salt and pepper to taste the fish after patting it dry. I would have liked it to be more salty. I did have a ton left over like everyone said and was able to make onion rings as a side so it seemed like a win-win to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I hardly ever give five stars, but this batter is great! Turned out perfectly crispy and stuck well to the fish. Will definitely make it again. Want to try this batter with onion rings, and maybe even mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States